Gift ideas

Now, everyone was asking me, just after wishing me 2 days back – “What gift u got?”

And I told them about the lack of time, due to the girls’ exams and probably I might go this weekend to buy something, for myself and hubby.

Immediately poured in suggestions on what to buy – An electric stove, Dinner Set, Crockeries, Cutleries, Bedspreads or some household thing. I was literally taken aback.  Of course there were a few suggestions for a sari, a gadget, diamonds…..but majority of the ideas were for the house and certainly not for me. U get my drift, right ???

Some ppl even suggested changing my old TV to a new LCD one, for my bday. 🙄  How can that be my bday gift ???? Just because a woman handles the house, the equipments or gadgets used for maintaining the house, cannot become her gift, isn’t it ???

Doesn’t anyone look into what does this woman like to have for her bday gift ??? Or what are her likes and dislikes ???

I feel that gifts should portray the love the giver has for the receiver, by buying something personal for them.  If the idea is to buy any thing, to facilitate better living conditions, a birthday or a wedding anniversary need not be the spark to it.

Now, these gifts for the house, is for the whole lot of ppl to use it or the job of the lady to use it for the whole lot.  Of course, love being the major player here….

But there is a limit right ???

Just look at the gifts these men get – it’s either a shirt or a perfume or a gadget or a book on their fav topic or something which only that man can use….the others cannot even enjoy it….nor even look at it.

Look at the contradiction, we have created for ourselves.

Once, I did get a Convection Oven for my Bday, as my husband wanted me to learn the nuances of baking on a better gadget than the mediocre thing I had before, without any temperature markings too….   Over the years, that Oven has come to be used by everyone in the family.  Even though the idea for buying it, was purely for the wifey, it’s not so anymore.  Or better, I don’t want to be the one operating it for everyone, just becos its my gift.  So, my personal gift has become dedicated to the family….am not so complaining now, but would really like something for myself, purely myself. And I am not selfish to think like that.

Why cant ppl gift something for that specific person and not for the whole family or household ???

49 Replies to “Gift ideas”

    1. Yay! I am 😀

      What to say! I guess what matters in a gift is the feelings!!! Rest all is moh maya 😛 just kidding…

      There are 3 occassions for my gifts from my hubby are pending and I am not taking anything coz I can not think of something which I want and will be with me exculsively….Gifting is such a pain i tell you. I to love gifting & getting books…:D

      Like

    2. Yes indeed, you are FIRST. 🙂

      Now u just reminded me – I too have my bday gift pending yet and this anniversary too has come and gone…. 😉

      Of course, books are just lovely gifts….esp if u love the titles….I wouldnt appreciate a book on learning Golf, u see…. 😉

      Like

  1. I think you’re prefectly right!

    All these suggestion — except sari n jewellery of course — would be perfect if the occasion was a housewarming!! That’s when you get something “for the house” 😛 😛
    i really think gifting something to a person is person-specific; not to cover spouse/kids/family.

    Like

  2. Nooo I did not ask what gift you got .. I was more interested in the FOOD … and what you guys did ..

    I dont beleive in gifts and all.. Nothing beats Being together , and BIG PUNJABI JAFFFI and Wishing the best for each other …

    Rest is all monetary and as i said i dont beleive in giving or TAKING to me being together is the Best GIFT one can give each other and offcourse a JAFFI toooo he hehehe 🙂

    Like

    1. I do appreciate those lovely moments spent with the loved one is the best gift. But u see, this is a woman’s heart wanting something from the loved partner….so, let him gift something for me na…. 😉

      Of course, food is always there…..u know that….we had a lovely dinner spread too that day, with all our fav dishes….. 😛 😛

      Like

  3. What you feel is very right, Uma! Thank god, my husband always comes home with a sari for my b’day, our W.day…etc. Others give utility things, just like you said!

    My nephew gave a wall hanging to his wife…she didn’t speak to him for a week!

    Like

    1. Oh my….wall hanging ???? That was one bad choice….. 😉 U shld be having a great sari collection by now, huh ???? 😉 Anyway, thats better than some mixie or grinder or wall hanging ???? 😉

      Bikram, glad u remembered to note that point…. 🙂 🙂

      Like

    1. he he he he 🙂 thats why i said i dont beleive in GIFTS taking and giving .. Jaffi pao TE wish karo .. simpleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

      Like

    2. Oh no…..towels…..seriously Shilpa, thats really too much….how did u react ???? 🙂 🙂

      Gifting is an art, which I think we women give a lot of thought, to make it perfect. 🙂

      Bikram, I just see a man, giving jaffi after jaffi to his wife for every occasion- take my advice, learn to gift….u might be in for a tough lesson otherwise…. 😉 😉

      Like

  4. Something for the house is not really a personal gift, unless *you* really really want that thing.

    For me gifts are very personal. There is no selfishness in what you wrote. I feel the exact same way. 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh thank God, u too feel the same abt not being selfish, to ask for a gift…. 🙂

      Buying something for the house, is a joint effort by the man and the woman….they need to buy things for the maintenance of the household – I dont think that it makes a perfect gift to a person, esp for their bday or anniversary.

      Can I gift my husband, a grinder or a geyser or a rice cooker for his bday ???? 🙄

      I remember my frnd, who was shocked to receive a Hair Dryer as her bday gift, for her first bday after the wedding…..now a days, she takes the money from him and buys her own gift…. 😉

      Like

  5. yea.. I hear you!! 😀
    My mom had strict rules – no home appliances or home stuff on anyone’s b’day!!
    Anniversary – if we wanted to give – we could, but mom and dad’s gift would be personal!

    And there’s nothing selfish in what you are saying!! Gifts need to be personal!

    Hugs! Hope you get something really nice and something that you always wanted! 😀

    Like

    1. Thank God for such lovely mothers….it keeps the world going. 🙂 🙂

      I am waiting…..its the weekend….and I am still waiting…..will share the moment I get something for me……..actually my bday gift is still pending Pix…. 😉 Men u see….

      Like

  6. Telling me!

    To beat them all, this year I decided to gift myself on my birthday and went for a body and head massage. It was heavenly. For all future birthdays and anniversaries I have decided to pamper myself 🙂

    Like

    1. Thats a fantastic idea….now that u’ve given me such a wonderful suggestion, I am thinking seriously of having a lovely massage and sending the bill, to my man…. 😉

      I am loving this idea. 🙂

      Like

  7. I wouldn’t label that selfish on any account. I too wish people had better gifting sense. Aren’t gifts supposed to make the gift-ed feel special? Nice read! 😀

    Like

  8. belated birthday wishes……when it come events like house warming n all its better gift something usefull for them…….n for birthdays and anniversaries ‘follow ur heart’ ……..between ‘what gift u got’ 😉 ……

    Like

    1. Anish, do u remember the way to my blog ?????? My my….I am indeed fortunate to get ur wishes….btw, it was my anniversary and not my bday. 🙂 🙂

      Like

    1. Oh dear….it was my anniversary……there was a post 2 days back and I assumed that ppl will read that before this one….thanks anyway…. 🙂

      Like

  9. Yes…i dont and can’t consider such gifts 😀 And, there is nothing selfish about it dear!! They should be something special & personalised, and should be used, protected, possesed only by this one person.

    Like

  10. Dear Uma,
    Good Morning!
    Happy Birthday,Dear!May God Bless You!Many More Happy Returns Of The Day!
    My B’day is coming up!:)
    Last year my friend dedicated wrote a poem and dedicated to me!I was thrilled!A Pleasant Surprise!
    Flowers,dedications,books or just sincere greetings make my day!Whatever be the gift,presented with love and honest friendship is always welcome!
    Wishing you a beautiful day ahead,
    Sasneham,
    Anu

    Like

    1. He would’ve gone crazy buying u shoes only….with the kind of shoe fetish u are….. 😉 😉

      How can that be ??? Allergic to gifts ?????? 😯

      Like

  11. Oh so true!!!! Uma, it was your birthday???? I didn’t see any notification on FB! SOooooo sorry I missed it… awww…feeling awwwwful now 😦
    Anyway, wish u a very very happy birthday and a wonderful weekend too. So what did you finally choose for yourself?
    And you know, you really hit the nail on the head with this sentence: ‘Look at the contradiction, we have created for ourselves’ We really have got ourselves into a soup this way!!!

    Like

    1. Naaa, it was not my bday, rest assured. 🙂 But u did wish me, for my anniversary…. 🙂

      Nothing bought yet…..am waiting for my man to finally decide on something. 😉

      Like

  12. Belated B’day wishes Uma!! You must settle for nothing less than diamonds and rubies for b’day gift! And more so because of the drool-worthy things that you bake for the family and friends:)

    Like

    1. U tooo Vidya ???? It was not my bday !!!! My anniversary…..plz read previous posts….. 😉

      But thank u for that lovely and damn expensive idea…. 😉 Am sure to make something out of that. 🙂

      Like

  13. Never mind the gifts… but it seems I missed your birthday !!! Belated Birthday wishes from my side… !!!!

    As far as gifts are concerned… I never show as if it matters to me… but inside I am most damn excited what am I going to get… !!!! 😛 😛 😛

    Like

    1. Ghost, plz, dont….I dont become older every 6 months…. 😉 😉 It was my anniversary. 🙂

      I think even I get excited to know there are some surprises and gifts in waiting…. 😉

      Like

Share what you feel about this post !