Lets go shopping…

Comfy’s post on Buzz waking up her Dad, is the inspiration to this post.  And also after so much ranting around yesterday, I wanted to nullify that effect, by posting something jolly good and funny. 🙂 😀 😀

Before I got married

One of the best shopping times I have ever had. Me and my sister, sometimes accompanied by Mom, would literally roam the streets of Mylapore or T.Nagar and enjoyed buying things, as and when they fancied us and of course, if the budget fitted that.  Those days, it was always a calculated shopping, but the fun associated with it was just fabulous and extraordinary.

With unlimited budget levels of today’s, the same joy is missing for me.

A cone ice-cream was just 5 bucks and we both will be licking it till we finish our shopping tooo…..My nostalgic moments and my best moments in life.

 

After I got married

The loving husband offered to take me for shopping and he was totally bugged with the time I took to buy one teeny-weeny clip. He didn’t understand the joy of spending time in the shop, looking at various things, chatting up with the shopkeeper, and in the process buying some clips or other junk stuff.  That shopkeeper of those college days, still remembers me, when I go to Mylapore and starts chatting with me. 😉

So, hubby thought of a new technique. When we leave home for shopping, he’ll ask me what I want to buy. Once I tell him that, he’ll take me to that particular shop and will give me exactly 5 mins, to buy and get out of that shop.

That was getting too much for me.  I missed my shopping fun. 😦  Husband hated the crowded streets of Mylapore and T.Nagar.

 

When I became a Mother

Tiny girls at home, left with my mom, didn’t give me enough time to roam over the streets and buy things leisurely. So,  I had to go with the husband’s 5 min shopping time.

I remember this incident very well.

It was Diwali time and I wanted a sari for Diwali. So, hubby took me in his bike to Mylapore. On the way, as we were talking casually, he asked me if I wanted any particular color of sari !!! I told that I don’t have a pink shaded sari yet…so, maybe I would be interested to see something in that shade.

You wont believe this. We went inside the shop. Husband asked the salesman to show a pink sari. He showed some polycotton or something in a lovely pink. Husband asked me if I like this color. I was just nodding my head to say yes. Even before I could see another sari, this sari was billed and packed and we were ready to leave. The salesman was stunned – He has never seen  a woman shopping for a sari like this. 😉

 

Now…

This is the best part of shopping. With two teenage girls, fashion is at its height, at home.

The girls want to go only to those places, where it’s totally crowded and mad – the Malls. The father takes them to all the places patiently, even though it takes about 30 mins to park the car. 😀

The girls take their own time to talk and talk and talk and then choose something. The father waits patiently. 😀

The girls can’t find a particular design in their size – the father searches patiently for them. 😀 😀

The best of all – the Father stands outside the Trial Room, with all the dresses the girls want to try. 😀 😀

He might be the sweetest Daddy around, but for me, it’s the sweetest revenge, for me. :mrgreen: 😀