Ten on Walking

Ten on Tuesday is becoming quite a popular thing to do, at blogs, now a days. Just when I was thinking of putting an update on my walking, it just hit me like why not do it the TOT way !!! πŸ˜€

1. Walking is still happening, thank God. πŸ™‚ I love getting up early, so that I can start my walking before the sun rays start hitting at people. Yeah, people, its damn hot here, after that one rainy night. The bright green leaves, the early morning birds are such a welcome sight to the eyes !!! And of course, not to forget the fragrance from the freshly blooming flowers !!! I pray everyday, that I shouldn’t miss this routine… πŸ™‚

2. Suddenly I am seeing a new trend during these walks. It is that I see more couples walking, than more singles. One of the couple has motivated the other to start exercising and that includes me and S, too. Yes, S has finally decided to shrug off his lazy coat and start the walking sessions with me.

3. Today, I saw a couple, with the lady wearing shoes and the husband in ordinary chappals !!! πŸ˜‰ After all, there is some contrasting people around, than what I mentioned in my previous post on walking.

4. There’s this cute dog, Betsy, a Lab, who comes for her morning walk with her Pet Father and Mother….its a lovely sight to see the three of them. And of course, looking at Betsy, gives me more joy – she is such a well-disciplined dog. πŸ˜€

5. How much ever I try, my mind never becomes quiet during these walk sessions !!! I always want to use this time for de-cluttering my mind and get a clear train of thoughts, but it’s always ends with food – plans for the bfast, lunch with the highest priority. Β Of course, there are some honest conversations with the God, which I find peaceful to the mind and soul.

6. U remember the mother with whom I spoke to (in one of my old posts) ??? I don’t know, but I havent met her after that day….Has she taken my advice a little too seriously ???? Neither she is seen walking nor her daughter. Or have they changed the timings to late evenings, to avoid ppl like me…..Dont know. Even if someone wants to help, people don’t want to take it.

7. I saw this elderly couple today. The lady came for walking first….she was listening to something in her mobile, using hands-free. Then after sometime, her husband joined her for walking and he too was listening to something in his gadget – don’t know what it is. Β After sometime, they both started talking and it was little bit embarrassing for the others – with both of them using hands-free, they both were literally shouting at each other and at such quiet morning hours, it was quite loud.

8. We have a temple in our apartment and lately, I see a lot of people, going around the temple, for their morning walks – 2 birds in 1 stone – pray while you walk !!! Ganesha is happy and so are the people who walk around his temple…. πŸ˜€

9. I prefer walking in silence….thats the way I preserve my energy and use it for my exercise. It’s also the fact that if you keep talking, you easily get tired during the walking. So, silence is Golden for me, in those early morning hours. But there are some people who come for walking only to talk – I hate to fall behind them, while walking….their constant talking interferes with my de-cluttering thoughts-process.

10. So, just pray that I should keep up with this spirit to get up early and go for walks….its a real energiser for the whole day.

The long winding roads make you feel like walking….like this song

Hum Jo Chalne Lage
Chalne Lage Hai Yeh Raste

Hai na perfect ????

So, are you walking or talking or reading a book or swimming or meeting friends or just cuddled in bed for holidays ???

37 Replies to “Ten on Walking”

      1. I just added that swimming in that last line, thinking of you…. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It was fun thinking of 10 things to write, about one topic. πŸ™‚

        Like

  1. Good to see your first Ten on Tuesday!! πŸ™‚
    Made for an interesting read!
    May you Keep Walking… πŸ™‚
    As for me, it’s swimming!! Tuesday is an off for Swimming and I’m Hatin’ it! 😦

    Like

    1. U r the expert – so thanks. πŸ™‚

      Everyone is swimming….now I too feel like going for a swim….. πŸ™‚

      Am thinking of keeping up with that walking session….lemme see. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. This post is written proof for point 5 πŸ˜‰ The number of things you notice and remember is amazing! I usually prefer having loud music to distract me from everything while walking. That is, when I ever do it 😦

    Like

    1. LOL DI !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ U caught me very well…. πŸ˜€

      I can never use those hands free for listening to music – my ears hurt that I loose the enjoyment of listening to music. I prefer to lie down, close my eyes while listening to music on my huge speakers…. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. WEll I use to walk but walking doesnot do much for me, so i run in mornings or swim .. depending on weather outside πŸ™‚
    wish I could see such lovely things here in UK.. early morning .. its too grey in mornings i guess ..

    Lot of people do it in evenings here but evenings I work … Though a good thing happened a couple of days back a girl asked for my number as she wants to run with me in morning but sadly she has not called me .. I guess when she was taking down my number she SAW me up close he he he he he

    I remember all you have said when i was in india , I use ot run from my house ot the Sukhna lake and it was blisss, thousands came for there walks and all …
    Have fun walking

    Like

    1. Oh dear….its sad that she didnt call u….u could’ve had some great company…. πŸ™‚ Or did u tell her that u are a Cop ????? Probably she got scared…. πŸ˜‰

      Grey misty mornings make for lovely pics -do try to click a few. πŸ™‚

      Thanks…lemme stick to my walking, consistently. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. My holiday’s start in a week’s time when I will be going for my BIL’s wedding. It is in Jabalpur and it is so hot there that ppl are asking me to keep the l’lle one indoors!!! Sigh!! And there will be no reading 😦

    Why are u feeling worried about the lady & her daughter? U never know they too are on a vacation? πŸ˜€

    And couple talking over hands free!! hahaha!!! such tactless & mannerness ppl I tell you!

    Like

    1. Oh no !!! Jabalpur is certainly damn hot….take care of the little boy…..I really dont feel comfortable in summer weddings….the heavy jewellery and sari – the attire to be worn makes it all the more uncomfortable…. 😦

      U’ll compensate all the missed reading, when u come back, I know…. πŸ˜‰

      Ok dear….thot so much too….I was worrying unnecessarily abt that mom and daughter….anyway, now thats it is out of my mind, I’ll be fine. πŸ™‚

      That couple looked so funny….each one saying a loud “aaannnn” when the other told something….. πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. Both of us are early risers, so it is easy for us to go for early morning walks, from 5 to 5.45 am.

    I feel that walking together is better than walking alone, esp. with our spouses.

    Good, the lady might be the serious walker!

    We had a pomeranian dog long back and he was not disciplined lake lab dogs. He used to run for 5 mts. and then we had to carry him. Betsy seems to be a good girl!

    As soon as my mind wakes up in the morning, I start thinking about cooking and start discussing with my husband which irritates him…yaedo onnu pannu, naan saappidarein!

    That is too bad. The might need the walking exercise for reducing her weight. Some people are like that.

    I don’t like to talk while walking too. Some women gossip loudly while walking…we used to watch two school teachers walking together and loudly discussing about other teachers and their headmistress!

    Do they walk around the temple with shoes?!

    If the determination is there, we will follow this routine, Uma! Last month we went for walk only for 6 days…determination!

    Enjoyed reading your post!

    Like

    1. LOL @ ur determination….. πŸ™‚ It happens sometimes…..next month it might become only 6 days off…. πŸ˜€

      Around the temple, there is a separate path for walking, which includes a ground and play area too…. πŸ˜‰

      Gossip during walking – a total NO-No, for me too.

      LOL @ yedho onnu pannu….. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Veetikku veedu vasapadi….. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. I want to do this ten on tuesday too! And I havelove walking in peace, and observing things while I walk too πŸ™‚ But I don’t meet too many people while i walk – I live in a really quiet, boring suburb 😦

    Like

  7. Uma – Come by sometime and we’ll go for a walk together πŸ˜‰ Walking alone is lovely but sometimes a companion is a lot of fun too! I’ve started walking too…so let’s hope for each other that we continue! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I just wish so much to meet u too Corinne….probably Pablo is the motivator for that meet. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

      I am actually liking the silence between companions while walking together….its such a lovely experience. πŸ™‚

      Lets wish each other everyday, during our morning prayers…. πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. Curling in bed, sleeping extra hours, lazing around.. that’ s how I am enjoying my holidays at home πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think of waking up everyday at 5 to walk, it just does not happen, though Amma goes for hers regularly πŸ˜‰

    I love walking, especially in a park because of the people…. there and again around in the area later, at a shopping mall or the market or the road or the lift and then there is at smile of recognition πŸ˜€ Love that about visiting the park in the mornings or evenings.. I shd start doing something for whatever Amma’s cooking is becoming fat and is showing πŸ˜‰

    TOT… I like the day, let’s see next tuesday then

    Like

  9. I’m walking, reading and I’m also cuddling on the sofa with a book and a cup of filter kaapi!! πŸ˜€

    The days have been wonderful!
    here, walking – not too many people are around, but the friendly ones do stop and chat and say hello! πŸ™‚
    my walking invariably takes me to the library for more books! πŸ˜€

    Like

  10. You inspire me to start walking early in the mornings Ums. Perhaps I will. The peace and quiet of the morning hours cannot be found during any other time πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. ohh I miss my walking days,sigh ! But no worries I’ll get back to that in sometime πŸ™‚

    I love walking in the morning..it’s such a pleasant experience..every day seems new and there is so much ‘me’ time available by default πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. I have finally started to get back to walking again. Can’t seem to do it in the morning but make time for it in the evening and am loving it.

    But I still think walks in the mornings are so much better. The peace at that hour is hard to find any other time of the day.

    You motivate all of us. πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. I used to walk with Pumbaa — now i run to keep up with him! πŸ™„ i rather prefer walking. he’s still too young and curious to get the concept of “walking slowly” πŸ˜€

    Like

  14. Ur walks are so interesting, U r making me feel so J really. I have stopped my morning walks and miss it so much. Its just too hot not to mention the humidity….and after I fell sick I just dont have the courage to attempt it again 😦

    Love the song…am humming it now πŸ™‚

    Like

Share what you feel about this post !