He is a lovely memory now…

Yesterday when I went out, there was something that yelled at me !!!

Yes, it was the Mavadu and I didn’t hesitate an extra moment to buy them. And then there was this fleeting thought that my Dad will love this tiny Mavadu, as they taste the most delicious.

There was this tangential thought about a post I wrote last Mavadu season and how I terribly missed my Dad and the silly fights we had for sharing this Mavadu.  But this year, buying Mavadu brought a smile of acknowledgement that Dad loves this and I had to do it well to make him proud. Even though there is this feeling of missing him from time to time, I hold onto him as a wonderful memory to judge my actions.

And everyday brings in more memories and thoughts about him. That day when we were parked opposite a temple, I saw someone emerge out of the temple and got an instant shock – he absolutely resembled my Dad. For a minute I thought it was him.  But instead of crying over it, I felt good to see his image wherever or whenever I want.  That goes on to show that Dad is a loving memory in the heart and mind.

I found two soap covers in his cupboard and brought it home, for they smelled totally of him than of the soap. My father’s scented viboothi (the ash to apply on the forehead) smell is now a strong memory thanks to those soap covers.

A year and 3 months gone by

But the heart still remembers his scent and words

There is this sense of missing him

The memory of his smiling face reaching out

To us

For now comes the understanding

That he is there here

Smiling and watching us

He is no more missed terribly

For he is a lovely memory !!!