Coorg Day 1: Thala-Cauveri

Coorg is an amazing place – the quiet, serene place with its villages tucked among the coffee estates are a great way to unwind. Which was perfect for me and my family, when the discussion on the place to visit came up. Even though we yearned to visit Coorg, the reservations and the tickets really was a tough task at hand.

And that was the time, when my brother told me that one of my uncle’s friend has his estate open for Home stays and that its very good. So, just a few phone calls later, our stay was booked and then the excitement started.

While we had confirmed return tickets by Shatabdhi, the onward journey still remained a mystery. Tatkal booking was the only option out. And when we went early morning and found a long queue of 50-60 ppl, ahead of us. I was wondering if people just slept over there in the night, as they used to do outside the American Consulate…. 😉

Anyway, till we got our confirmed tickets in hand, I was literally jumping from my rational discussion on the probability of us getting the tickets and to my other form which was desperately praying to God……you see, faith is a great stress-buster. 🙂

Now, we boarded the Shatabdhi to Mysore….took a cab from Mysore to Madikare in Coorg and went to our Home stay. WOW, what a location and what an amazing climate !!!

The view from the terrace, adjoining my room....
The beautiful coffee estate....dont miss out that tree !!!

It was pure bliss to face each day with such a delightful cup of nature, facing you and smelling in the fresh blooms – not to forget the pure oxygen that fills the lungs. 🙂

After a night of fitful sleep, we proceeded towards Thala-Cauvery, which was the place to visit for me….Having had a bath in the Cauvery before it reaches the sea, at Thiruvaiyaru, Trichy and Kumbakonam, my mind was full of expectation to see the source for this great river.

It was a two-hour drive from Madikare to Bhagamandala.

Now, Bhagamandala is a Triveni Sangamam – the first Sangamam in the course of the River Cauvery and is considered a holy place to have a dip in.  Whether my sins were washed off at that place or not, it sure was a great dip there. But, I was totally unexpected for the cold water and the tiny fishes going around me.

The Triveni Sangamam at Bhagamandala

After the holy dip, we visited the Bhagandeeswarar temple for a puja. And then set off on another 20 mins drive to Thala-Cauvery. 🙂

The source of this amazing river is such a small spring, which goes back into the Earth, after spouting out, at this place.  The river, comes back out of the Earth at a later place.

The source spring of the Cauvery.

No, we are not there in this picture….if you can see the small square of water near the pujari, that’s the source spring of Cauvery. A bigger tank has been made in the front, to enable people to have a bath.

It’s such a beautiful place that I felt so much at peace with myself. 🙂

There are about 373 steps there, which lead to a sight-seeing spot. And people say that if we are lucky, we can even see the Kerala Coast…..but alas, the mist played spoil sport for us…

Hai na breath-taking ???
The temple view from the top....

On the whole, the scenery, the serene beauty, the feeling of being a part of nature is just amazing, standing there, facing the mountains and the valley.

I called up my patti from there, for she holds such fond memories of her childhood, having a bath in the Cauvery everyday….and me visiting the source of this great river was just so special for her. I re-lived the moment, through my patti. 🙂

Came back to Madikare, had a hearty lunch. 😀

We just had a small trek and visited this Abbey Falls, about 10 mins drive from Madikare.  It’s so beautiful, but totally unreachable…

Abbey Falls....
Abbey Falls....

Came back totally tired, yet so happy in heart….