The Changed ME !!!

Shilpa’s Ten on Tuesday is the inspiration behind this post.

I know it’s not Tuesday, and is surely not at all like Shilpa’s post. But this thought suddenly hit me today morning, while I was having chai and reading my newspaper. Β You see, its such an inspirational time, for me. The chai does wonders !!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

OK, here are the eight things, which I’ve never faced / done / attempted, before my wedding !!! And how I changed later !!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

1. The first and foremost of all is this. In my parent’s home, Egg is considered as Non-veg and is strictly not allowed inside the house. So, cooking Egg is certainly out-of-bounds. Me and my sister used to smuggle one or two eggs on a lazy sunday, to condition our hair. But, no one will come near us for the next two days..he he he…but we enjoyed doing it…and I love the Egg smell in my hair !!!! πŸ™‚

After marriage, the first cooking lesson I learnt, was the famous omelet !!! The Master Chef was none other than my husband. On one evening, I did the omelet, scrambled eggs repeatedly till I got it perfect. I was scared to break the egg without disturbing the yolk, you know…. LOL !!! Β Then began the tiring class – to get the perfect bull’s-eye !!! Β I would’ve tried so many times, till the Chef was extremely happy with the results.

Now a days, he sits and enjoys the lessons well taught. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

2. I love to walk and shop, a lot. Before my wedding, it was me and my sister, roaming the streets of Luz Corner, Mylapore, T Nagar and finding out those small shops in even smaller gullies, which sell awesome stuff. Β Huh, those are the days utter bliss of shopping. πŸ™‚ Β People will ask our suggestion, on what to buy as gift and where to find that !!! We were experts in that, I tell you. πŸ™‚

But now, the protective husband, is worried – probably becos of “no balance in account” probability. πŸ˜‰ Β He insists on accompanying me to all my shopping escapades….what escapade, with hubby tagging along…. πŸ˜‰ Β  And sometimes, owing to parking worries, he gives me 5 mins to choose, pay and get back in the car….HHHmmmpppppffffff……. Β While going in the car, he prepares me – sort of – What are u planning to buy ??? What color u have in mind ?? So many questions to make me, decide and make up my mind on my requirements. High end scheming and planning by the innovative husband, have led to total lack of fun during shopping.

3. I used to travel by bus or train a lot. Of course, I’ve even used a cycle – I was trim and fit those days of cycling. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

Now, the hubby is like the Vodafone pug, singing along “wherever you go, I’ll follow you” and he insists on dropping me, picking me up in the car,…..uffff….read this post to understand it better.

4. In my home, my parents, especially my Mom is very strict about dress codes – she never allowed us to wear pants, during teenage. However I got one for a school play, and continued to use it, till my college…. πŸ˜‰ Of course, the frequency of using pants was very minimal – to get permission from Mom will take some days… πŸ˜‰

The moment I got engaged, the first gift from S, was a wonderful blue denim pant and I still have it and treasure it. πŸ™‚ My mom was aghast at the gift. But she couldn’t do anything, after all it was her future son-in-law !!! πŸ˜‰ But she refrained me from wearing it, till I got married…LOL !!! πŸ™‚

5. The Beauty Parlor was out-of-bounds, for me, before the wedding. Becos of my friends insistence, I had visited the Parlor, but didnt go over board in doing any of those facials and all.

One week before my wedding, my future co-sisters, pounced on me and directed me to a beautician, whom they think was first class. And I underwent all the beauty treatments in one go…My God, it was confusing as to what they were doing and why. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ Β But the end results were not so bad, so I gave in. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ Now, I go whenever I need to relax myself and get pampered a bit. πŸ˜‰

6. We used to converse a lot in Tamil and Tamil only. πŸ™‚ Β Not to forget the Chennai Slang Tamil, with friends. πŸ™‚

English became the spoken language, after marriage, I don’t know how and why. πŸ˜‰ So, my girls are more into English, than Tamil. πŸ™‚ Β Even though me and S enjoy Tamil movies or comedy scenes or debates in Tamil, it’s always English with the girls…dont know why !!! πŸ˜‰ And they watch, Star World, AXN and other stuff… πŸ˜‰ Β BTW, are u watching Master Chef Australia on AXN ??? Its damn good…. πŸ™‚

7. At my amma’s place, we used to cook only twice a day – the morning’s straight brunch and the evening tiffin. Β There’s always some reason for the tiffin – the adults don’t eat rice in the night on Mondays (Fast for Shiva), Tuesday (some reason), Thursday (really don’t know why), Saturdays (??????) and of course, amavasya, ekadashi, dwadashi, shashti – they were actually left with a few days when they can really binge on food…he he he…. πŸ˜› Β Rotis and puris were a treat and we’ll pester amma for one week, to make her to do it…. πŸ˜‰ Β It’ll generally sambhar, rasam, some veggie and pappads. Simple yet delicious. πŸ˜›

Now, I make 4 meals a day and if required 5 sometimes – all small in quantity and great in variety. πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Β And rotis have become our staple diet. We wake up as South Indians eating idly, dosa, upma, pongal kind of breakfast and end the day as North Indians with rotis / pulao / briyani Β !!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Β And the foodie I am, I love to cook and feed people too. πŸ™‚

8. I always thot watching a movie in the theatre is damn fun and I used to watch almost every movie that got released, before my wedding. Thanks to the office building being located on prime entertainment area, my whole team will attack the theatres during weekends !!! πŸ™‚

Now, I don’t visit the theatre at all – it’s very rare. S doesn’t enjoy the crowd, the chit chatter (My God, he is just the opposite of me !!!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ ) Β and also he hates sitting in a chair for 2 to 3 hrs….so, all the cinema dreams went down the drain. But I still make it up by watching them on Tata Sky or DVDs !!!!

To finish the post, let me say : Life was good then. Life is wonderfully happy now. Β πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚