Missing what matters!

Today is a day of high-strung emotions.

I went to the temple, as always on Saturdays. Just as I was about to start my pradakshinam, I saw a little girl hugging her father so tightly. Her face was glowing with her love. Even though the father found the hug a bit too tight, he was revelling in her love for him.

That moment broke the tear dam, which was holding up for a long time.

I wiped my tears and started the pradakshinam.

Then came running two small girls, in polka-dotted frocks, all smiling and absolutely happy to be there. That was the next moment. The tears couldn’t be controlled.

What’s this with these little girls and their showing of love, that breaks me down!!

When my elder one was little, she used to wait for her Appa to come back from work. She’ll be looking out for him, from the bedroom window. Since her height was an issue, she used to stand on the cot’s head stand and look at the window with wide opened eyes. Among all the bikes that passed our home, she’ll rightly identify her Appa’s with the sound of the engine. And will start shrieking with joy looking at him and waving to him.

Now, there is a role reversal. The father and the mother put together wait to see their little girl run towards them…

I am holding strong. But there are days when that strength fails you in comparison to the love thread in between.

To put in one simple line – an emotionally strung mother is missing her daughters!

