Here and there in my foodie world!

I think cooking skills are there in my genes!

When I have a bad headache and over time it spreads to the neck and becomes a dull throbbing pain and I can’t even utter normal responses to questions directed at me and all I wanted to do was scream at everyone at sight, the husband takes the role of the silent man and acts as if the dumb idiot box is actually intelligent.

And then I take refuge in the kitchen with the beginnings of a coffee…aaahhh….that helps a little. He tries to help by suggesting that I take a pain killer tablet but I refuse. I hate those tablets. For me, the biggest healer is sleep and I’ll go to it at the right time.

Then, with the continuing pain, I enter the kitchen and decide to make vengaya thogaiyal and rasam with lots of pepper and garlic! The frying onion smell can heal, you know πŸ˜› Also, the fried urid dal tastes awesome when popped into the mouth while they are golden crisp. The whiff of garlic while the rasam is boiling makes me bend over the rasam pot and inhale the flavours of pepper, jeera, garlic thereby helping my headache to heal by itself.

After eating the hearty meal and a good sleep in the night, makes me all refreshed for the next day. The headache is gone.

Food is a healer and along with sleep, the benefits are double. And then there are days when there is a satisfying feeling of facing an awesome day, just because the cooking turned out great that morning!

A few pics from my lunch box to tempt you πŸ˜›

Podi Idly for breakfast πŸ™‚

 

Capsicum and tomato sambar, mix veg fry, mangai vella pachadi from the lunch box πŸ™‚

 

Share what you feel about this post !

