Day 2 : My “care-giver” Amma

When this 30 days of blogging idea was going around, I hesitated; ideas for 30 posts or topics to write on evaded me. But I just plunged in owing to peer pressure…he he…yes…blogging peers πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ And I’m loving every minute I spend on reading other posts and writing properly, instead of those hurried four lines for a cloud picture, done with the sole intention of keeping my blog alive.

And yesterday, when I wrote the post on prayer, the idea stuck me – the spark came back to me…appada…its a relief….ask any blogger about writing blocks ! I pray that you all don’t fall prey to it ! The idea is to write about all the goodness that I find around me. Everyday will focus on a person or a concept that’s good around me and that I appreciate in life.

What better way than to begin with my Amma ❀

When I grew up, she was the strictest mom ever and even now I feel her voice hovering over me if my kitchen is messy or if clothes are lying around. She doesn’t tell me anything now-a-days, but her voice goes on in my mind. ha ha…that’s Amma πŸ˜€

I think I can call her a care-giver to the whole family and sometimes even to unknown people, friends and anybody who calls her for help.

She is always at the hospital for people who want someone to help them around during their stay there. She helps people at their home in all the ways she can. And never has she uttered a bad opinion about others or the way they behave.

I remember that she even had a few saris marked for hospital wear ! Such was her involvement in doing things.

She doesn’t hesitate to do little things for other people; she actually does them from her heart. She doesn’t look for recognition or appreciation for helping out – she just does it – its her basic quality. What an amazing soul she is !

Even if we’ve the health to do, time to spare, the heart should say yes to do such things for others and she’s a fine example of an excellent care-giver !

I bow to thee Amma, for being you, for living by example to show us how important it is to give care to people to who need them.

About UmaS

A Stay At Home Mom trying desperately to make a difference, in whatever I do !!!
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Day 2 : My “care-giver” Amma

  1. wordcoiner says:

    It takes a lot to be there for everyone. I understand how you’d be feeling thinking about all the times she selflessly tended to family, friends and acquaintances. Pranams to your Amma πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mala says:

    I bow to your mom Uma. She IS a wonderful person.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Deeps says:

    Hahaha..peer pressure indeed Ums! There’s a child-like thrill in seeing so many of us jumping in to take this up. Feels like good old times πŸ™‚

    Now to the crux of your post, what a beautiful read about your Amma. “When I grew up, she was the strictest mom ever and even now I feel her voice hovering over me if my kitchen is messy or if clothes are lying around. She doesn’t tell me anything now-a-days, but her voice goes on in my mind. ha ha…that’s AmmaπŸ˜€” that sounded familiar! Ammas, they are all the same πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Bless you Ums, for seeing the goodness in everyone and everything around you πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Bikramjit says:

    Mavaan thandiyaan chavaan.. Please please do extend my regards to your mom…

    and You sure have picked all the goodness from her… WOnderfulllllllllll

    Liked by 1 person

  5. deviantwave says:

    Sigh – you wrote what drives me everyday – the mother and the GM’s voice. You know my connection with both and therefore know how much I can relate — lovely piece Uma ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Swaram says:

    Such a lovely idea Ums. ❀ Hugs!
    And Amma sounds so so sweet. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love it Uma! I wish I was that selfless – and be able to just be there for people. Have so much admiration for people who can give and not expect anythinf

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ps I have totally visualised your amma in my mindseye

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Shilpa Garg says:

    It takes a generous, benevolent and big-hearted person to do so much for others selflessly. Your words prove the love and admiration you have for your mom, Uma!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Saritha says:

    Moms are the best…because god can’t be every where he created mom. I echo your feelings..if kitchen is messy or other things…I hear my mom’s voice do it right now, don’t postpone things….

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Shalzzz says:

    Regards to you mom, Uma. She is a gem of a person and I’m glad you wrote about her πŸ™‚
    30 recipes for NaBloPoMo at Something’s Cooking

    Like

  12. scorpria says:

    Aah you stole my post. Again! (Though I don’t remember which one you stole before) πŸ˜€
    Lovely tribute!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Priya says:

    Wonderful theme for the blogathon Ums! Loved reading πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Gulshan says:

    Goodness gracious me!
    To write of the goodness you see
    The thought’s brilliant
    (Also valiant)
    And what better start, than a good-hearted Mummy!

    Liked by 1 person

Share what you feel about this post !

