Day 8 – I see myself in You

Yesterday, elder one was watching me and my mom have a conversation.

And this is what she told me. “Ma, you’re so much like your mom. And I see myself in You. The way you answer her, is exactly the way I answer you”

Somehow, this is bound to happen. Its either genetic or influenced by being in the same house for a long time or may be we want to be like our role model mothers.

With two girls around, I see myself in both of them, but for different attitudes which they’ve picked up from me. While the elder one is more calm and composed like me, the younger one is a fire-brand like her Dad and aunt ๐Ÿ˜€ ย She calls a spade a spade, whether the other person likes it or not. Me and elder one will never give out our opinions unless you value it and ask for it.

I’m a first child too. I find that another reason for similarities between me and my elder one. And we both are people who think about things in our minds more and we allow them to materialize slowly and steadily. ย We are are very cautious in making real-time friendships and also in letting our true self out.

The younger one relates to this personality of mine – of being die-hard romantic and also for sharing the love to watch the rom-com movies, sometimes we even watch it repeatedly many a times and we are never bored of it. And there are some scenes, for which I shed a tear or two, every time I watch it. ย I’ve spoken of the innumerable times when I get all choked up and emotional listening / watching the Jana Gana Mana in the movie K3G, by that little boy. I don’t know what’s in that scene, but it happens to me !! ย And that is something my Dad will relate to me…he he ๐Ÿ˜€

But I see myself changing, with the onset of blogging and facebook and now, the business venture. I’m able to be more social and talk to strangers too, which used to be a big no no for me before !

Intentionally or not, we are a reflection of our parents in certain habits, characteristics, phobias and such things. And our children will be our reflection.

I see myself in You – Duh…you said it ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

Month of ramblings

4 Replies to “Day 8 – I see myself in You”

  1. So the Uma gene has been quite nicely shared with both dots. ๐Ÿ˜€ Good good. I agree we’re a reflection of our parents in some areas. I notice that at times, especially in how I talk. Though there are a couple of things that doesn’t seem to be common with either parent too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is also a meme that goes on about how terrifying it is to be like one’s parent! I identify with that, even though I do admire my mom a lot! She’s not who I am, or will ever be – And we do grow into that if we rebel enough I think. But sneakily it creeps upon one, at times, that we cannot shake off that remanat too!
    Thought-provoking post.

    Like

Share what you feel about this post !

