The Purple Umbrella

purple umbrella

A starry night or a rainy one
The predictions seemed to favor the latter one
Going out was going to be fun
With that Purple Umbrella of mine.

I generally hate carrying umbrellas in hand
And neither in bags as they peep out
I used to prefer the pink raincoat
Than that Purple Umbrella of mine.

But that day was different
It was the day to stock up before the rains
And I chose to keep the raincoat aside
Went out with that Purple Umbrella of mine.

I kept looking up at the sky
To see if the stars turned into raindrops…
There was a moment I paused to buy
Down came the sharp cold drops of water
That I opened up that Purple Umbrella of mine.

The downpour was heavy
As we waded through watery pools
But we both kept our heads dry
Under the Purple Umbrella of mine.

The shyness in him melted away
At the touch of the icy rain drops
The mood was absolutely romantic
Under the Purple Umbrella of mine.

Andย his arm went over my shoulders
In a tight hug
That meant and professed a love that is infinite
Beneath that Purple Umbrella of mine.

We walked together under the dry cover
With steps that synchronized with laughter
And heavens blessing with the rains
Over the Purple Umbrella of mine.

That ten minutes of walking together
Is the best I can remember
And I keep giving myself a pat on my back
For taking that Purple Umbrella of mine.

13 Replies to “The Purple Umbrella”

Share what you feel about this post !

