Private India – Book Review

private india

 

I’ve read Ashwin Sanghi before – his Chanakya Chant was quick paced and I loved reading it. His Krishna Key was also damn good and well researched even though it resembled a lot like Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code (Read my review of Krishna Key here).

The synopsis of Private India as said in the book is:

In Mumbai, seemingly unconnected people are dying, strangled in a chilling ritual and with strange objects carefully arranged with the corpses.

For Santosh Wagh, head of Private India, the Mumbai branch of the world’s finest investigation agency, it’s a race against time to stop the killer striking again.

In a city of over thirteen million, he’d have his work cut out at the best of times, but this case has him battling Mumbai’s biggest gang lord and a godman who isn’t all he seems.

And then he discovers there may be an even greater danger facing Private India.  Hidden in the shadows is someone who could destroy the whole organisation  -along with thousands of innocent Mumbai citizens…

I had a lot of expectations when Ashwin collaborated with another author, James Patterson. But this book is a big put down for me. After four murders happening within 48 hours, I still turned the pages without any interest.

The narrative didn’t make me sit on the edges of my chair or bite my nails with anticipation of How and Why the murders are happening.

But the following points surely made me wonder, “Why??? How???”

  • This character Jack Morgan appeared for no reason, save the one-page climax. If he was such a famous investigator, how he didn’t he have any inputs to this case that Santosh was trying to solve?
  • Name any thing in the wrong side of Mumbai (for that matter, any city) and its there in the story – Drugs, sex-rackets, terrorists, gang lord, sex-change. I felt that all these were mixed randomly in a cup so that the readers can have a feel that its a good masala mix.
  • Is getting a dead body out of the Hospital into a private agency’s lab, so easy ?? They make it look so easy and that it happens all the time.
  • I found a weird choice of words to explain situations and it never clicked any feeling of mystery in me. Have any of you seen Pretty Little Liars? Even small sequences makes me sit on the edge to wonder “What’ll happen next??”  That feeling is pretty much missing while reading this book.

Even though the big letters make it easy to read for me, the story as such failed to make a mark.

Too many cooks spoil the broth. Two many authors spoiled the book for me.

 

This review is a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!

6 Replies to “Private India – Book Review”

    1. Yup…from my point of view. Even though I like Ashwin’s writings, this joint venture didnt click well.
      Reading Rozabel line by Ashwin now – heard that was too good – his first novel 🙂

      Like

Share what you feel about this post !

