My Online Shopping Cart Story

I am always critical of things around me and even my own self. I think a hundred times before issuing a cheque to someone – Will that person deposit in time / I hope the cheque is not lost. Many things keep crossing my mind, till I see the cheque realized for its value. I heave a sigh of relief.

Sometimes, I feel its better to pay by cash. When I first became financially independent, at the age of 18, all payments were made in cash. Even withdrawals from banks, were to be done with a Withdrawal challan and not a cheque. The cheque book was the most coveted thing to hold in hand, as it required that you maintain a certain balance in the account. Many people had zero balance accounts then.

I used to carry cash for all the shopping I did, during those carefree days, with my sister. That bulk of notes in my hand, made me all the more powerful in front of everyone. I was so proud to bargain and make my purchases with stylish payment by cash.

The feel of coins in the hand and heavy feeling of the handbag, which was bulging with coins, made me ecstatic.

Such is the power of money in hand and I totally enjoyed that period.

Even now, there are certain payments which I do with cash and I feel thoroughly powerful to do it πŸ˜€

Do not get to think that I might be pre-dated to current technology. Yes, I do have my credit / debit cards….whatever that is available with my bank.

The day I got my card, was the day I read about a Dedit card fraud in an ATM, where someone placed a gadget to record the PIN number and cheated the person of a few lakh of rupees. Damn…even before I start swiping my card, look at this news to dissuade me !!! 😦

And then there were many stories, where people got caught in the frenzy of swiping cards and the gundas were threatening them to pay immediately.

All this made me to think !!! The speed at which the Cards dominated the scene in India is in total contrast to the knowledge on how to use those Cards and also there were no Secured modes of transaction for swiping cards.

Today, the scenario has changed, both in terms of Security and the know how of using the Cards.

The skeptical me changed slowly to the ever-swiping me, with the power of cash in hand, in the name of a tiny card πŸ™‚

But there was this part in me, which never accepted to buy anything, without seeing it for real, without feeling the product !!! I just have to buy it in person. Starting from books to cosmetics, clothes to shoes…whatever !!! The fresh pages of the book will actually persuade me to buy the book. Can I have such an experience buying online, was my question !!!

But everything changed on my birthday, two years back, thanks to my wonderful blog friends πŸ™‚ They had sent me a Flipkart voucher, as my Birthday gift !!! OMG, I was absolutely thrilled to do online shopping !!!

So, my first online shopping experience began with Flipkart !!! Then it was only books, but the bookworm in me was way too glad for that πŸ™‚ I chose books just like that, with the click of a mouse, sitting at home, staring out of my window, enjoying an occasional mynah chirping, with the smell of rasam wafting through the house and even attending to phone calls and calling bells !!!

I never thought that buying my favourite books could be so easy, without having to worry for the availability of the book !!! Why, I was not stuck on the terrible traffic jams of the city !!! And there were no parking woes for the dear husband !!! The most important factor was that there were no sales people who irritate me every time, with their rudeness !!!

WOW, I was glad to be shopping online, especially at Flipkart !!!

With just a few clicks and entering the Voucher number, my shopping was done for that day !!! And when the package came in just 2 days, I was elated. They had couriered me much earlier than the specified time. Isn’t that fantastic !!!

And that day, I decided, there is no point in travelling all the way of 20 kms to Landmark or any other good bookstore to get stuff for the ever needy bookworm in me !!!

Flipkart has changed over the years and so have I. I use it as often as I can, even for gadgets too !!!

I read somewhere that shopping increases the mood liftingΒ endorphin. And you can be rest assured to have all those endorphins, sitting at home, in the comforts of your home, browsing and clicking on things you like and need.

So, here is me, raising a toast to Online Shopping !!!

This post is a part of the contest at BlogAdda.com in association with Snapdeal.com

19 Replies to “My Online Shopping Cart Story”

  1. Awwww ur blog friends are so sweet πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› LOL!

    It is so nice to see u writing about that experience Ums πŸ™‚ Hugssss! Btw what books had u bought then? πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. Of course they are, including you πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      I can’t think of any other experience to write Swaru !!! I had got many books like Julie & Julia, Kite Runner, Wise & Unwise…. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. KNow what, i had someone try to use my credit card, book flight tickets in some south american site for 20k.. luckilly my bank calls to verify if amt is over 2k and i froze the card.. bla bla…

    And for this birthday, a friend has given me a flipkart voucher :))) [no connect, just coincidence]

    sweet post πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ you’ve indeed come a long way

    Like

  3. Have read many posts on this topic and you know what is the most common factor in all? ‘Flipkart’, My God! that site has touched so many lives that it is amazing re.

    And somehow I am never very comfprtable in using cash! I prefer cheques & cards somehow easier to track πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Looks like Flipkart is fantastic with their quick delivery !!! Yeah, quite a consistent one too…

      Thats a good point…I change a 500 into 5 100s and dont know where they have gone !!! 😦

      Like

  4. I was initially vary of online shopping. I just look at trusted websites these days….to care for the security concerns. But that apart, it’s a hassle free good, convenient experience.

    Like

  5. Now you make me feel as if I am still living in the 70’s πŸ˜₯ I still prefer to use cash for almost all of my purchases as it makes it easier for a shopaholic like me to strictly stick to a budget πŸ™„

    Hmmm online shopping….that is just not for me. I need to touch, feel and walk through aisles and aisles of stuffs to release my endorphin and reach a state of Nirvana πŸ˜›

    Like

Share what you feel about this post !

