Cosmo Chennai or not ???

Pal, as I was writing a comment to ur post, I realized that I had lots to say and hence this post is a my comment. πŸ™‚

Chennai sweats a lot, Mochachilo – it’s because of the geographical location and nobody can be blamed for it. If the people here have a bath 3 times a day, and still be sweating – just imagine the drain of energy. In spite of that, people are cheerful enough to do things, is a point to be appreciated. And thank God, for that forced Rain Water Harvesting by J.Jayalalitha during her last term, Chennai has enough water now, even during summer, to cater to 3 baths per day of the visiting tourist !!!

Now, whats there to see in Chennai, apart from the temples and beach ??? Chennai was not built as a Tourist City to attract the foreign exchange. But still, if you really want to know about the Heart of Chennai, there are many a places where u find the quaint Chennai shining through….u just need to put in that effort in knowing the place. I think every city has its charms and negative points and we need to know about those things, in the honest sense, before making a comment.

Recently I read at Vidya’s blog, that the Mussoorie lake was a total disappointment to them….there was no great charm to it and the boating really sucked. Does MussoorieΒ take up the responsibility, for a dried up lake during summer ??? Or is it right in blaming the place, for the climatic effects ????

Every City is made of people and Chennai is no exception. It’s a general conception that people in North India are more out-going, love their social life, are more trendy in their outlook and certainly fashionistas…. πŸ™‚ South Indians, especially the Tamilians do not have such a broad out-look to life, as their culture ties them down. And there are people here, majority of them, still valuing their culture as though, letting go of it will take them to hell straight. Β We still value our traditional carnatic music, the bharatanatyam, the idlis, the dosas, the temples, the kanchivaram saris – SO WHAT ??? Β I certainly don’t think that these should be issues to mark Chennai as not being Cosmo.

There are so many foreigners living in Chennai, embracing this life-style of the city, as their own, learning our traditional values and enjoying it also. And there are many who are here to learn our traditional bharatanatyam.

Please read through this link, about the Chinese lady bent on learning our wonderful art of dancing and spreading the same in China.

It’s all in the mind, Mochachilo and probably you were not in your right vision about this City.

What with the spurring up of the IT corridor in Chennai, there have been more immigrants here than before. And many of them I know, have bought property in Chennai, in the idea to settle here forever. If the people of other states find it so wonderful to settle here forever, then certainly the City should be appealing to them.

And also, the present trend is people from Northern parts come here searching for jobs, as this is a really good place to settle. So, I see hindi speaking people wherever I go and its a welcome change for many. Suddenly we see a lot of Chaat shops in the city, with these many North Indians trying to make this, their city.

If we people, Tamilians, are not accommodative or not Cosmo in their thinking, how the hell that these North Indians are trying to make Chennai their home forever ????

It’s all in the attitude of the people and certainly Chennai’s people are doing great !!! There are ruffians everywhere – if you find Chennai autowalahs are rude, then there is Bal Thackerey in Maharashtra and there is some X / Y / Z in every other city. It’s the blend of all these characters which makes a city and I don’t hesitate even a moment before stating that CHENNAI IS COSMOPOLITAN. πŸ™‚ Ask the survivors here….not the tourists. πŸ™‚

About UmaS

A Stay At Home Mom trying desperately to make a difference, in whatever I do !!!
This entry was posted in The Beginning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Cosmo Chennai or not ???

    • UmaS says:

      U are on a roll, here…..have fun. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • yes I agree every city has its +ves and -ves but also its important to acknowledge those and atleast attempt to do something about the -ves… ofcourse one cant do anything abt the natural heat (which BTW is the result of having lovely beaches to u) but there are other things that can be addrressed and should be and that is not just with chennai its with every city I say

      Like

    • I have a lot more to say here as I said on pal’s post unfortunately I dont want to jump in the series I am doing on chennai trip and this comes the last πŸ˜›

      Like

  1. Sandhya says:

    I am beaming with pride, reading this post, Uma! All points you have quoted are very correct.

    Many North Indians have bought flats here in OMR also and the vegetable and fruit vendors are learning to trade in Hindi for their sake!

    Like

  2. Swaram says:

    I so luvvv this Ums! This is what I say and live by! Doesn’t Hyd have its shortcomings? I am nt blaming the dosas here or the palli chutney, just bcoz we make it differently in Blr!

    Every place has its own charms to offer, and u r better off loving the place for its own specialties πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Bikram says:

    All i want to say is Why does it matter if a city is called a Cosmo or a metropolitan or other names ..

    Is there some sort of name tag.. Sorry If i am sounding stupid…

    as you said its the people who make a city, and we will always love where we have lived or have memories .. to me Chandigarh-Patiala-Muktsar are the most beautiful cities and best in india, metro or cosmo or not .. -ve or +ve whatever they are the best πŸ™‚ because wherever I look I find something that I recongnise or remember ..

    Like

  4. Shilpa Garg says:

    Loved the last line!! πŸ™‚
    Very well said, Uma… each city has its own flavor which makes its unique and different from the rest and of course like any other thing, everybody cannot appreciate or like the same things… different strokes for different folks!!

    Like

  5. Ashwathy says:

    Ha ha πŸ™‚ What timing for me to read this post!

    Two of my north Indian friends were raving about Chennai….the culture, the food joints, the night life, the attitude and simplicity of the people…….
    I’ve a Punjabi friend who loves Chennai to bits…

    I have to admit, the concept of Chennai as a conservative boring place is totally changing.
    The only problem there is the language….wish more ppl were open to speaking languages other than Tamil. Being a South Indian I am ok with it since I know enough Tamil to live by… but that’s rather unfriendly for outsiders….

    Like

  6. lostworld says:

    I’ve so often been subjected to my friends ranting about how ‘backward’ chennai is. Even from people who come from smaller towns in interior Bihar etc.. I usually choose to ignore as trying to explain or argue always leaves me drained. Henceforth, I shall simply forward your post across !! Well said and justified Uma πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. chitra nagesh says:

    A spirited post which warmed me (or should I say cooled me to my toes?!). A good one that Accept my hugs!

    Like

  8. chitra nagesh says:

    A spirited post which warmed me( should i say cooled me pleasantly to my toes?!) Pl, accept my hugs.

    Like

  9. Priya says:

    You are bang on Uma! Most people never tire of pointing or cribbing about the things that they dont like and the generalizations are most irksome… but they are hardly ever appreciative of the things they like! Have seen very few who are open minded and do not put labels or go by labels πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Smitha says:

    Uma, couldn’t agree more with you. If we approach every city with an open mind, we are far more likely to blend in, and enjoy it. It is when we come with pre-conceived notions, or have expectations that every city will be identical, that things start to feel wrong. And as for language, I don’t understand why it is not taken as an opportunity to pick up a new language. I have seen how people love it when outsiders make a genuine effort to learn or absorb more of the native culture, rather than be upset that it is different from their own.

    Wondeful post, Uma.

    Like

  11. Writerzblock says:

    Uma, first of all, from a fellow-Chennai-ite, a big ‘Hi 5’ πŸ™‚ Chennai has certainly evolved – quite drastically infact – in the last 7-8 years. To tell you the truth, I find it difficult to fit into this new ‘shopping, spending and merry-making culture’ πŸ™‚ (I wonder if that is an exaggeration).

    Unfortunately, most of us Indians associate ‘being modern and cosmopolitan’ with ‘shopping, boozing and speaking Hindi/English’ which is SO not fair. I think Chennai is just as cosmo as any other Indian city!!!

    Like someone said at my blog, we really need a good PR overhaul!!! We have so much beauty in our city, but sadly, it is masked behind our filthy auto drivers and muggy weather.

    About the original post by Mochachilo, let us not be so harsh on him. He only stated his point of view as an outsider and a visitor. I guess most non-Chennai-ites will say the exact same thing, just in varying shades of hatred and love!

    Like

  12. Saritha says:

    Completely agree with u uma,every city has draw backs and one can’t stick on to that.And you and swaram are the best examples of making the hyd city their home and loving each moment of living here…..Come back uma come back …….

    Like

  13. Rashmi says:

    I love my frens from chennai..though never been there but I always wish to meet my dear frens.
    completely agree with you..every city has plus and minus…and norht india like delhi is no exception to it

    Like

  14. Blognostic says:

    Somehow Chennai has retained its traditional charm despite its economic rise. Hope ‘Namma Chennai’ does not become ‘Western Chennai’. πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. A Good reply to the post instead of a comment..!! Any Place we visit, we need to have an open mind about the place, instead of presuming lots about the place. I wonder how all the people from the i-hate-chennai-community go on cribbing the same thing again and again, climate, autos, language and night-life. They should better go find some new reasons. I have hardly heard complaints about any place in north from chennaites. the kind of help one gets here in chennai is beyond comparison to any other place in north.

    One of my friend kept cribbing while she was ni chennai, and now she’s left to north, “Dont want to disclose the place”. She’s been complaining about how hot it the place is in comparison chennai.
    Basically its all in the mind!!

    Like

  16. Nancy says:

    I dont have much to offer in this discussion, just wanted to say tht I found it interesting…both the post and the comments :-).

    Like

  17. DI says:

    I missed this post! 😦
    I loved it. Totally. I have never lived in Chennai, and I have only visited the place during weddings, functions and all. And honestly, I do find the humidity quite unbearable. But climate does not define a place. I loved the line where you say that a city is made of its people. I think that explains it all.
    If all cities had the same kind of culture, openness, habits, likes, dislikes, food, where would that amazing diversity we harp about be? The whole concept is to enjoy the city for it is made of.
    I fortunately have had a chance to live both a north Indian and south Indian life, and I think I have enjoyed each bit of it. There is a difference, ofcourse, but that’s what makes it more fun. πŸ˜€
    Oh, and on a lighter note, I JUST had a conversation with The Dude about the fact that Chennai has beaches, and how it gives it so many more points πŸ˜‰

    Like

  18. Kartikay says:

    πŸ™‚

    As long as I don’t get pulled into a misconstrued North vs. South session, I’m really happy to have had this blog-ersation!

    Quite separate from any of this discussion, I just realized that I will NEVER support my home-town if it comes under such “fire”! Quite weird I am πŸ™‚

    Like

Share what you feel about this post !

