A New Life

I just happened to click this picture 2 days back. Sort of love this flower, as this is most important flower to decorate Lord Ganesha on Ganesh Chaturthi. Β It looked so fresh and beautiful, inviting me to click.

Now, as I am scheduling my TC post, I see the relevance to that clicking. Its perfect for the theme this week –Β SPRING (New Life, Green, Melting Snow, Pleasant Weather,…)

New Life marking the Spring...

Edited to add :

I wanted to put in the Botanical name of this flower while scheduling, but somehow skipped it. Now, as per Celestial Rays request, here’s the link :

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calotropis_gigantea

27 Replies to “A New Life”

  1. We also use the leaves of this plant on Ratha Saptami day, when the Sun changes his chariot.
    We call it ekkada hoovu in Kannada πŸ™‚ What is it called in Tamil?

    Like

    1. Its called Erukkam poo, in tamil, Swaru. πŸ™‚

      Of course we also do the Ratha Saptami snanam. πŸ™‚

      One more interesting thing came to my mind – when my thatha had heel pain in his later years, this is what he’ll do. My patti will heat up a brick on the gas stove – the regular red one used in buildings. Then she’ll put the hot brick on the floor and stack some leaves from this particular plant on it. My thatha will keep his heel on these leaves. The juice of the leaves squeeze out due to the heat in the brick and that gives immense relief from heel pain. Thanks to you, I suddenly remembered my thatha and his smile. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Nice one Uma! And apt too.. due to its association to Ratha Saptami .. which acc to Wikipedia is symbolic of the change of season to spring πŸ˜€
    Yes..i looked that one up since I didnt know about the ritual!

    Like

  3. Erukkam poo. I remember last year for vinayakar chathurthi I went around the entire neighbour with amma in search of this flower. Your themes evokes memories in me all the time. Cheers

    Like

Share what you feel about this post !

