To Text or to Talk ???

I was travelling by bus recently and the obsession with the mobile phones among the young, struck me totally.

There was this girl, sitting next to me, totally hooked to her Blackberry. Probably listening to songs or something, was my idea….that’s what generally ppl do to overcome the boring travel. Β But for me, the bus travel is never boring. It’s the time I observe a lot of ppl and I love doing that.

When I heard the beep every 10 seconds coming from the Blackberry, I was curious to know whats happening.

I realized that she’s texting someone. Β What can u text every 10 seconds and get a reply too ????

When she held the mobile down, to avoid the glares of the sun, I quietly peeped onto the screen…..OK….that’s bad, I admit. But curiosity killed the cat, right ???? πŸ˜‰

“Traffic jam”There was no traffic jam, at that point. πŸ™„

“Stop A”

“Landmark A”

“Landmark B”

“Landmark C”

“Stop B”

OMG !!! That was quite a waste of money spent on texting someone, on these silly things…..now, how is it going to matter where is this girl, every 10 feet of bus travel ???? It’s a shocking discovery to know ppl sendΒ SMSesΒ like this. And then I went on to discover that Airtel gives a SMS package on Pre-paids – If u recharge for Rs 26/- u can make a mind-boggling 6000 smses in a month !!! Now, thats what is tempting ppl to send smses like these. Who in their right mind can make use of that 6000 smses in one month ????

Then I saw this girl, standing in one corner of a bus stop, laughing and talking to…ahem….herself ??? ….na, she was talking to someone on her hands-free. Β Oh God, ppl used to call them senile, if they talk or laugh to themselves, but now that’s the norm to show that you are technically fit and probably an entry-level check for entry into friends groups. All around me, I see ppl talking and talking to someone on the phone, but still I feel that we have lost the communication part of it somewhere….

50 Replies to “To Text or to Talk ???”

    1. 6000 sms 😯 😯 I guess with that free figure I can sms my entire life πŸ˜†
      I send sms at the rate of maximum 10-20 per year…maybe it’s an addiction I haven’t tasted so far πŸ˜‰

      Like

    2. Oh yeah, first. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Yes, mind-boggling figures…I tell u….

      And u are just too much to the other side – 10 to 20 per year ???? OMG !!! πŸ˜€

      Like

  1. This happened about 6-7 years back. I was walking with my senior son one day when a girl coming in the opposite direction smiled and said something. I assumed it was a friend of his and he thought she was a friend of mine. There was no one else besides the three of us. She kept on walking and we realized she was on the phone, hands free set πŸ˜›
    Another time I saw this man in our housing colony, talking all to himself and at first I was worried since I was the only one on the road πŸ˜› Turned out he was on his phone.
    Nowadays it is so common!
    Yeah, you are right, at first glance it looks like they are talking to themselves and are cuckoo! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. πŸ˜€ My younger one belongs to the walk and talk school of philosophy. I think he is a nut, and am sure the rest of the people in the colony think so too. Imagine walking all over the colony in the evening chatting with a hands free and hands tucked in his jacket pockets.

    Like

  3. 600 smses?!! Aila?!! 😯
    I text a lot! But, not at this frequency!!
    And yea, once I have texted abt traffic jams and at what landmark I am at too!! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. Rofl! I do sms quite a bit, but never to the point where I am telling someone the exact location of my being! ‘Stop A’, ‘Landmark B’ …. that’s hilarious! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I was totally shocked Neena….it led me to wonder if she has that texting syndrome – where the fingers keep typing on their own – u just cant stop them….. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

      Like

  5. hey! nice post.. well been addicted to smsing at one stage in life.. where literally all the letters on the keys vanished! mom n dad needless to say were horrified! nw i see the same thing with my sis n cousins when i had them home for the weekend! they texed more than they talked to me n my hubby! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Welcome here Vinitha !!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      LOL !!! So, as the next generation comes in, they seem to be texting more and more huh ??? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Late one evening , i was walking home on campus, and as it happens sometimes, the street lights conked off along out stretch. I kind of speeded up because it was dark, and the place is kind of wooded, when I suddenly heard a dramatic laugh behind me. There was this one man and no one else. I literally doubled my speed. Before I could think that he was mad , i realized that he was on a hands free and was probably laughing loudly at some joke, someone must have told him on the phone. Terrible.

    Like

    1. Oh…that sounds quite scary to see such ppl talking loudly on the phone and laughing too….That surely is one of those times, when they dont bother what others think of them. Isnt it ????

      Like

  7. How right you are about talking more but communicating less Uma!!! And texting is almost an art now. A colleague deeps dabbing at the keys even as he is talking to us- i mean without looking at the key pad!! Its the girl friend of course. He’ll quickly glance down when there is a beep to chk response and resume!!

    Like

  8. Ha ha ha!!!! I think the thrill of SMS-ing is unparalleled, at a certain age. I remember a time when I used to love sending sms-es too. Today, ofcourse it is just tedious and boring. I actually envy those girls, Uma. Their being so carefree, irresponsible, having silly fun…. sigh!!! Good old days of youth πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Oh, but what I DO NOT like about sms-ing is that we end up ‘communicating’ with someone who is NOT present, by virtually ignoring those who are physically present with us. That is both rude and depressing.

    Like

  10. I dont like smsing either and i beleive those who want to talk to me can call me πŸ™‚ simple even though on my contract i got unlimited txt can sms any number freee πŸ™‚

    but i guess its the thrill to sms.. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I dont know Bikram….I cant understand the thrill of smsing stupid things….

      Me too love to call and talk….but I do find sms very useful, where I am unable to call ppl….

      Like

  11. 6000sms i have to check,i pay rs.26/- for 200 sms in a month (airtel)

    The most of the sms i get is from my cousins kids who are in there teens and u know the service providers target customers are these kids who are in colleges or who have just started working…..

    Like

  12. I still feel nostalgic about the written word but then inland letters of yesteryears are long forgotten in the 160 & 140 character world of SMS & Twitter. Yet heartening it is if out of the blue I find an old letter(apart from the bank statements or bills) bringing a jest of life, an iota of childhood I once had! πŸ™‚

    Texting at times relives the same experience, if not in its entirety!

    Like

    1. Welcome Calvy. πŸ™‚

      That nostalgia holds me too…..writing letters…..I too can never tell my mind within that twitter character count….thats why I prefer blogging…. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. Yeah, she must be on BB messenger which is free!! But, you are so right… everywhere people are sooooo busy with their phones all the time… SMSing, browsing…
    Once, my co-passenger talked non-stop during the 3 hour journey… he must have spoken to almost all his relatives and friends in his contact list!! 😐

    Like

  14. And I have a plan where I have to pay a lot of money if I have to send a text or even open a text I receive. So you know what that means right? I don’t text at all. I would rather pick up the phone and talk to someone if it is important or if I feel like just talking. Else there is always email.

    Now I feel old 😐

    Like

  15. 6000 smses? i could live the rest of my life with tht πŸ˜€
    but well, honestly, i’m more a text person than a talk person. I’d anyday, anytime, prefer msg-ing over actually talking on th phone πŸ˜€ probs of being a “writer” i guess πŸ˜€

    Like

  16. I’ve once been doing such minute-to-minute update to my friends, so i can relate very well πŸ˜€
    Back then, there were free sms monthly!!
    but then 6000 sms is too much!!!

    Like

Share what you feel about this post !

