Its time to de-stress…

and I do it my way by cooking and baking !!!! πŸ™‚

This New Year saw me making a resolution to myself, to be more convicted in doing Yoga everyday and today saw the light to that resolution. And I am happy about that…. πŸ™‚

OOOOHHHH…..the number of joints in my body reminded me of their presence today, as I put them to work after many months of break. But it feels good to be doing my pranayama….I just love those breathing exercises. It gives me a bout of fresh air, makes my lungs give in more oxygen to my blood and leaves me feeling fantastic through the day. Here is my affirmation, that I’ll sincerely stick to this Yoga regime. πŸ™‚ God help me. πŸ™‚

Ok, now back to the other de-stressing techniques, like cooking and baking. After slogging for one week to de-stress myself in different ways, this weekend finally saw me finding relief by baking my girls’ favorite cup cakes….OMG, it was an instant hit, with many finding places in those hungry for cake tummies. I was finally glad to see the smile on my girls’ face, who were terribly missing my cakes !!! I felt blessed to feel that the girls missed my cakes….its a wonderful feeling, a warm emotion which starts right from the bottom of the stomach and tries to move up and reach into my eyes to form those dreaded tears….of course, happy tears. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

Dont they tempt you ????

 

And one more thing which left me high and excited, was my and my husband’s trial at the ever-yummy Hyderabadi Dum Briyani. πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Now, does that tempt you all even more ???? πŸ˜‰

Now, the recipes were from our amazing expert on this recipe Saritha, who happens to tempt me with her invitation to her home. I am definitely going to gate-crash one day, Sari…. πŸ˜‰

While my favorite is Hyderabadi Dum Briyani, I read her latest Chicken Briyani too with lots of interest….

So, the whole house was getting excited from the time we started marinating the chicken !!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Now, who will not ???? πŸ˜‰

And the end result was damn satisfying and great and yummy and whatever adjective you can think of !!! πŸ™‚

 

The Briyani, when we opened it....

 

And when we digged into it….ha ha ha….its was awesome !!! Β It was a delight to the taste buds…the spices, the aroma….My God, rejuvenated me…. πŸ™‚ Now, that’s what I call a Perfect De-Stressing technique…What do u say !!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

 

Hai na too good ????

 

Looks like I am back to blogging….but I might not be able to stay online for long…will read ur posts sooooon…. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ A mighty number from my Reader welcomed (scared) me !!! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰ Β Will be visiting you all soon. πŸ™‚

Now, u keep de-stressing !!!! πŸ™‚

About UmaS

A Stay At Home Mom trying desperately to make a difference, in whatever I do !!!
This entry was posted in The Beginning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Its time to de-stress…

  1. DI says:

    Happy New Year Ums!
    May you keep all your resolutions and have a great year πŸ™‚
    The cup cakes look awesome! Yum!

    Like

    • UmaS says:

      Hey, thanks DI for the wishes and for keeping the faith in me that I’ll hold upto the resolutions !!! πŸ™‚

      Cup cakes for you, when we meet. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›

      Like

  2. Swaram says:

    What a yummilicious way to welcome 2011 Ums πŸ˜‰
    Stay happy and pleased all the time πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Priya says:

    Wow! what a perfect way to usher in the new year πŸ™‚
    Glad you’re kinda back! Waiting for you at my place πŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. ~G says:

    The cupcakes look very tempting!
    Happy new year Ums. Have a grand one!

    Like

  5. scorpria says:

    Yummy yummy cakes and to-die-for looking biriyani πŸ˜€
    Superb!
    Nice start to the new yr πŸ˜€
    Happy New Year, Ums!

    Like

  6. shilpa says:

    The biryani and cakes look yummy πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. shilpa says:

    Whether u gate crash into sari’s home or not I will gate crash into yours πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Saritha says:

    Welcome back uma and happy new year πŸ™‚

    Thanks uma for trying the biryani and glad that u all liked it.Now i am going to gate crash into ur house for biryani and my girls will come for cup cakes.

    Me too baked a cake with buttermilk and kids both are down with stomach upset so myself and hubby ate the cake.

    Like

  9. Harini says:

    I love Dum Biryani too but being a vegetarian I only make Aloo one :P. The cup cakes look YUMMY!

    Like

  10. Bikram says:

    yummy it is …

    Loved it ….

    How are you doing …

    Like

  11. Ashwathy says:

    Pleaseeeeeeeeeee do this de-stressing technique for me also…. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ will get to eat all the goodies then :mrgreen: πŸ˜›

    Like

  12. Pixie says:

    the cookies and the biryani look yummy! πŸ˜€
    Cooking is very de-stressing! which is why I try and cook on most days in the evenings after work! πŸ™‚

    hugs

    Like

  13. Vidya says:

    Drooling at the pic of the yummy cup cakes. Send it over puhleeeze!

    Like

  14. And I start 2011 by drooling..on your blog where else..but then what else is new.. πŸ™‚

    Hope 2011 bring only good things for you and your family

    Like

  15. Elegant Chic says:

    Wow! Yummilicious Uma! πŸ˜€
    Drooools

    Welcome back dear and wishing you an awesome year ahead! Cheers to your resolution! πŸ˜€

    Like

  16. kanagu says:

    thats a wonderful way of de-stressing πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I want cup cake and briyani to de-stress myself πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    they look very yummy πŸ™‚

    Like

  17. everything looks sooo yummy and cooking is the best way to destress

    hugs uma

    Like

  18. deviantwave says:

    Wishing you a yummilicious year Uma .. may the cooking be only for fun fun and more fun .. may stress fly off the window this decade .. Happy 2011 to Srini and the girls .. πŸ™‚ .. Hugs to aunty πŸ˜€

    Like

  19. Anu says:

    My reader was waiting for such a drooling post from you uma!! hmmm…cup cakes…I so want to have them now!! Share the secret of this recipe dear!!
    Dum biriyani is so tempting too, but I’m “naan vegetarian” types…so..well..ahem..excuse me “Chicken”!!

    Like

  20. Yes Uma, those cupcakes look really good… actually they look like something you’d buy from a bakery… mine never come out that perfect!

    I share your de-stresser technique! If not crocheting or making some craft, I love to cook too! And anything with chocolate is usually the menu πŸ˜€

    The girls missed your cakes… of course they did!

    And whenever you’re gate-crashing Sari’s house, count me in! πŸ˜€

    All the best with Yoga Uma! Suryanamaskar just feels great… before you know it, it’ll be your routine πŸ™‚

    Like

Share what you feel about this post !

