Twisted Situation

When I was born, everyone around me was ecstatic.

They were happy when I blabbered some rubbish, which they totally understood as Sundara Tamizh language.

When I learnt new things, they told “How smart I was” !!!

When I topped my school and college, “They were absolutely sure, that I am the future Einstein”.

When I working, my co-workers were appreciative of my knowledge in various things.

My boss was quite impressed and promoted me.

The man whom I met, found me smart, intelligent and beautiful, to become his perfect life partner.

My mil was happy to have an Engineer bahu.

But now, with two teenage daughters, catching me at every nook and corner, I wonder if I’ve learnt anything so far.

– Ma, this word is not pronounced like this – In which world you learnt that pronounciation ???

– Ma, its not fashionable to allow the saree pallu to be ย just like that – you need to pin it compulsorily.

– Oh, what weird taste you have in choosing your dress ??? Its certainly not my style.

– Ma, this thing is not done like that in FB – the technique is different, let me explain.

But they always come to my wardrobe and flick a top from me, when they want to go out.

They ask me how to add links and html codes while posting msgs.

Of course, it goes without saying that they appreciate my cooking and baking. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

And still give me so gyaan, as though I dont know anything, and they are just tolerating me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

Me : Who understand you better ???

Sh : Ma, its you and only you.

Me : So, do I get you everything you want, as I understand you better ???

Sh : Dont feel bad…its Daddy who gets whatever I tell him – you are very stubborn, Ma. I get this for denying to buy her some rubbish things, which are a total waste of money. Daddy buys that rubbish and gets good name. Irony.

51 Replies to “Twisted Situation”

  1. Lol. Such a cute post! I got my sons those WWF cards which were such a rage and his friends were sort of amazed, “Your Mom got them for you???!! Our Moms scold us for collecting them!’ ๐Ÿ˜†

    Like

    1. Absolutely true – you are FIRST !!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Shail, I think we fall in the category of cool Moms. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ I too bought the UNO cards in all the designs possible and guess what I was forced to learn the game and play with them too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  2. LOL!!! Atleast your daughters are ‘grown-up’. Yesterday the brat tells me ‘Amma doesn’t know ANYTHING because she doesn’t go to school!!!’ Sigh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    1. Oh Pal, thats bad, na?

      You shouldve told your son —

      “R, thats not the way to say that. Your grammar is incorrect. It should be ‘Amma doesnโ€™t know ANYTHING because she had never been to school’ ” ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

    2. Oh, Pal….R is so cute with his logic. It goes to say that he treats u like a friend. He wants u to go along with him to school. He is damn adorably cute. ๐Ÿ™‚ Special hugs to the sweet boy. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Touchwood on this mommy-son cute logic and bonding. ๐Ÿ™‚

      @ Vimmuuu – ๐Ÿ™„ Only you can come up with something like that.

      Like

  3. LOL !!! Admit it Uma, you are way too old now ! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ But I can give a compliment; you dont look your age ! happy? ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    1. Boohoo !!!! No way, feeling young at heart is the secret to happiness and I am not changing ways. ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› Thank you…finally some sensible commenting. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Haha! It’s so true that with one’s kids whatever we have learnt in life seems outdated and needs urgent upgrading,according to them! ๐Ÿ˜€ Wow! But, I’m really impressed with ur qualifications and smartness Uma! The girls are lucky to have u as a mum! :)))

    Like

    1. So true na, Indy. We teach them the alphabets and pronounciations and now they turn back and tell me that all the pronounciations are wrong… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I certainly cant learn it the way they do. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks Indy…. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. he he he .. but how do you know they are useless or waste of money.. do one thing buy them for urslef and see .. you may atually like them ๐Ÿ™‚ ha ha haha

    Parenthood– full time job ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Those useless waste of money are lying in suitcases, without being touched for the past few years – which the daddy + daughter duo bought !!!! I manage the mess, so I know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thats so true – its full time with overtime everyday. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  6. It’s raining posts! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
    Oh My God kids! They have their priorities right huh? Good you told me, I will be nice, say yes to everything to mine, and The Dude can be the ‘bad’ guy ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    1. Take a cue here and there, but be what you really are…no lessons from other work for you, when u become a mom – its totally as to what you heart says. ๐Ÿ™‚

      But I like ur idea of casting the Dude as the “bad” guy. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ Am now seriously thinking of some ideas… ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  7. heey! it’s so cute! and very true ๐Ÿ™‚ hehe.. maybe if you gave them more ice tea they would think you were smarter ๐Ÿ˜‰ lol.. i’m so hung up on it..

    Like

    1. LOL Saggy !!! What an idea !!!! Seems like that iced tea is the best in the world, right now, for you… ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ Enjoy yourself. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Just look at her – calling me stubborn and all !!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

Share what you feel about this post !

