The Idly Story – Left over part

The leftover of yesterday’s Idlies were made into an awesome Idly Upma / Idly Usili. The Idlies in some form seem to rule the breakfast table in my home. 😉

After drooling on Idly + Sambar + Chutney combo yesterday, it’s the turn for you all to drool over this amazingly simple yet delicious Idly Upma. 🙂

Idly Upma

– Refrigerate the left-over Idlies overnight. It helps in crumbling them better.

– Crumble the idlies well.

– Put oil in a pan, tadka with mustard, broken urid dhal, green chillies and curry leaves.

– Add one onion, finely cut. Put in a pinch of haldi (turmeric powder).

– Fry well.

– Add the crumbled idlies and mix well.

– I usually reduce the green chillies and add our favorite Idly Milagai Podi, for more flavor.

– Squeeze half a lemon and garnish with coriander leaves.

There you go, the easy recipe to a delicious breakfast. 🙂

Now, now, drool some more…

Droolworthy picture, na ???

So, do you do this at home ????

About UmaS

A Stay At Home Mom trying desperately to make a difference, in whatever I do !!!
This entry was posted in The Beginning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to The Idly Story – Left over part

  1. Saritha says:

    I always deep fry the left over idlies and sprinkle chat masala,we all love eating this way.Never did upma with left over idlies.

    Like

    • UmaS says:

      OOH…the deep fried idlies absorb more oil, like frying the bread. They call it Kheema idly here in Tamil nadu. 🙂

      Its always idli upma for us. 🙂 Some days, we make idlies to specifically make this upma. 🙂 Its such a fav.

      Like

  2. aaah I love idly upma and u know sometimes just crumbled idly and podi makes it yummy and quick

    Like

  3. shail says:

    Yes I do! Its a favorite of mine 🙂

    Like

  4. Phoenixritu says:

    Now this is what I love about south indian food, it is simple and so flavorful

    Like

  5. Indy says:

    Oh my God! I must leave the page right now uma, my fast is getting hungrier! Nice dish! :))))

    Like

  6. DI says:

    I LOVE Usili! More than Idli itself! So much so, I would eagerly wait for it the day after the idlis were cooked 😀 Looks yum!

    Like

  7. Scorpria says:

    I prefer idly as idly, anyday! 😀 Mom used to make this sometime, but i’ve never relished it much! Coz i know i’m having idly not in its original form! Yeah. Am THAT crazy about idly 😀 😀

    Like

  8. Swaram says:

    Oh I luvvv this one too. Sigh! Me fasting! Dnt put up pics like these pls : P:P

    Like

  9. Rashmi says:

    I make this at home with left over idli and put seasonal vegetable mostly capsicum and cabbage and shallow fry every thing…

    Like

  10. Vimmuuu says:

    oh, a second part of that Idly story !!!

    wait a minute, do you have a third part where in…..neva mind !!!! 😀 😀 😀

    Like

  11. Priya says:

    We make this too! love it 🙂
    Its been quite some time though…
    Milagai podi part is new..must try..

    Like

  12. Chatterbox says:

    Looks totally yum, a perfect treat to snack on after work…..get set and tell me your secret proportions to get to this yummy delight 😀 😀

    Like

  13. Bikram says:

    This is called being MEAN.. and having a LAUGH over it toooooo BAD VERY BADDDDDDDDDdddddddddddddddddddddd

    What shud i do now stuck in office, and lunch still 3 hours away only 10 AM yet ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    🙂

    Like

  14. Elegant Chic says:

    Umaaa!!! I had to swim across your blog to read your posts… the pages are wet and dripping… and here’s me to add more to it! 😀
    droolsssss

    Like

  15. kanagu says:

    I love this one when I eat.. not when I see the picture 👿 It makes me all hungrier..

    Like

  16. Deeps says:

    Droolicious!! Yes yes we make this at home, Ums. I miss my Amma’s cooking even more after reading both your idli posts!!

    Like

    • UmaS says:

      Oh dear…Amma’s cooking is just damn good na…I always think that I cant get that same taste as my Mom’s, even if I follow her recipe to perfection. 🙂

      Like

  17. Pallavi says:

    Oh yummyyyyyy!!!!! My mum makes the best idli upma ever, and yours looks pretty much like hers 🙂

    Like

  18. Garima says:

    Mean mean… thats just mean 😉
    Looks yumm!

    Like

  19. Ashwathy says:

    I thought you were going to mention about chilly idlis!!!
    Hey this is one thing I’ve never had…will ask mom to try it next time I m home…
    I never make idlis at my place anyway :mrgreen:

    Like

  20. Shilpa Garg says:

    This one is interesting!! I have tried cutting idlis into small cubes and then frying them as per your recipe. Never made an idli upma though!! Will try some time!! 🙂

    Like

  21. Ordinary Guy says:

    I dont think we have ever done this at home………. dont remember it 😛

    Like

  22. Me hungry hungry for the fasting fasting..you put yummy food pics 😥 😥

    Like

  23. Pixie says:

    ooh! niice! 😀 😀
    Will try this out for sure when I make idlis!! 😉

    Like

  24. Lakshmi says:

    My favorite as well. Infact I like this more than idlies!

    Like

  25. piyu says:

    Yummy :D… Will try this the next time I have leftover idlis 🙂

    Like

  26. Anu says:

    Hmmmm…yummy….I love Idli upma than the idlis….

    Like

  27. Butterfly says:

    Somehow I never end up with left overs. Gotta make some more this time. Will try it out.

    Like

Share what you feel about this post !

