Look at things differently

Am currently reading Brida, by Paulo Coelho.  My God, I am loving every minute of reading it.  🙂

And there’s this particular tiny story, which really made me think.

Brida was complaining about not being able to do a piece of homework, because every time she started, it went wrong. She was about fourteen years then.

“Perhaps the times when it goes wrong are teaching you something”, said her father.  But Brida was sure that she’d taken the wrong path and that there was no way to put things right.

Her father took her by the hand and led her into the living room, where her grandmother used to watch television.  There was a large, antique grandfather clock, which has stopped years before because it could no longer be repaired.

“Nothing in the world is ever completely wrong, my dear”, said her father, looking at the clock. “Even a stopped clock is right twice a day”.

Now, isn’t that a great story ??? Just loved it and have been pondering over what the story is teaching, from yesterday.

Do you play games – the simple card ones in your computer ??? The Free Cell ??? OK, because Free Cell is my favourite game of them all. 🙂

Now, when you open the game for the first time for the day, the cards are always easily placed and you are certain to win that game.

You can call it as “Beginner’s Luck”, as Paulo tells in The Alchemist.

I also think that the computer is motivating you to go for another game.  Only when you win a game, you are motivated to play more.

The second game might be little bit hard and the third quite difficult to win.  But that doesn’t mean that the game cannot be won. The column of cards, which we started clearing is wrong, that’s all. Now, just get back to the beginning of the game, start with a different column and do it differently than the first time, then success is surely ours.

So, if something fails in life, don’t just get into the loophole – “Nothing works for me, and I always lose.”

Its just the method or the way taken is not right for you. Just try it totally different the next time, and see success kissing you. 🙂 🙂 🙂

34 Replies to “Look at things differently”

        1. I am noticing that…post Nablopomo, you are off during weekends from the internet…enjoy the other life too. 😉

          Yes, its all in the perspective to look at things and if we fail, we need to take a different look, thats all. 🙂

          Like

  1. That works if you are the patient sorts. I have the tendency to demolish a whole lot of stuff to get to the bottom of “why does this shit not work”. Then I start again. End up having to clear debris too 😦

    Like

    1. Oh Ritu…I thot you are the patient one… 🙂

      Yes, I do agree to a certain extent – the impatient ones need someone around them – a friend, partner or son, someone to show them a different perspective !!! 🙂

      Like

  2. Ha!!! U shud see me when I am winning! I try stuff that I have not attempted bfore, fall flat on my face and things come to a standstill there!! Ha ha ha!!!

    But what a story and what an inference!! Amazing!

    Like

    1. LOL Butterfly !!! 🙂 But it takes more courage to get up from that fall and face the situation again and I am sure you do that. 🙂

      Glad u like it. 🙂

      Like

  3. yeha so true.. if we give up then we are never going to succeed , so try try til you win..

    i use to play PCMAN a lot, i mean the old one when it came on 5and half inch floppy drive he hehe in those days 🙂 the good old days …

    ALso if you are not winning then its a good idea to STOP, relax , think it may not be for you… you may need to change tactics or change what you are wanting to do .. IT helps if you take a STEP back and then work for it …

    Like

  4. Wonderful story uma.When ever i fail/don’t get what i wanted i just say there is always a sunshine after dark.

    I play cards on my mobile,inspite of loosing many times i always get tempted to start a new game.

    There are two ways of telling a about a glass with water.It is half full or It is half empty.

    Like

  5. Read Witch of portobello by Paulo Coelho, I follow his blog and find him very insightful Uma. Things changed for me since I began reading him. Sometimes the smallest of things make a huge difference ,
    lovely post .

    Like

  6. Nice! 😀 I don’t read Coelho. I did read Veronika decides to die and alchemist and eleven minutes. Loved the quoted portion 🙂 Somehow, I seem to miss out on the obvious insightful statements in books when I am reading. Only when others point them out, the make sense to me! 🙂

    Lovely post too! Very inspirational in itself 😀

    Like

    1. LOL DI – “I seem to miss out on the obvious insightful statements in books when I am reading. Only when others point them out, the make sense to me! ” – Not only you, even I am like that.

      So, I tell myself to read slowly or to take 10 min breaks in-between to really absorb the essential stuff. Paulo writes on strong topics, so I always stop in-between to analyse and understand better. Thats why this quote happened. 🙂 Thank you.

      Like

Share what you feel about this post !

