IPL and Million dollar question

My daughter’s million dollar question, as of now – Which team do you support in IPL ????  She keeps asking each and everyone she comes across.  And if anyone asks her, about her favourite team, she would give a glare which means – How can you not know it ??? Of course its Deccan Chargers !!! You know, how much I love Hyd !!!   So much of a meaning in one glare. 🙂

Now, while both the daughters share similar opinions on the team they support, the next in question is me and S.

I took the safe way out – “My dear, whatever team you support, I too will support the same.”  This will in effect avoid all the arguments and save my energy. 😉

There is one more twist to this favouritism. If DC doesn’t make it to the semifinals, then the girls will support KKR !!!  I am too stunned by this theory !!!! 🙂  Why ???? Because SRK is there !!!! I thought its all about cricket – now it looks like, its about a city that they love, an actor they like and what else !!!!

Next comes S.

Girls : Dad, which team do you support ???? KKR ???

S : No

Girls : DC ???? You know they won the last time !!!!

S : No !!! No !!!!

Girls : Maybe, Mumbai Indians !!!!

S : No, No, you’ve got it all wrong !!!

Girls : What ???? We thought that you wanted Mumbai to win….your favourite player Sachin is there in the team.  OK, then tell who do you support ????

S : I support only Sachin !!! He is the God of Cricket and I want him to win !!!! 🙂

Girls :   🙄    🙄

Me :     🙄

Such Sachin devotion !!!! 🙂

About UmaS

A Stay At Home Mom trying desperately to make a difference, in whatever I do !!!
This entry was posted in The Beginning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to IPL and Million dollar question

  1. Smita says:

    lol!!! I also keep asking the same question!! I support King XI because of Priety Zinta 😀 but sigh! this time they aren’t playing good!! 😦

    And the Sachin thing is so true! Half the people who support MI is because of Sachin!

    But honestly which team u support that is if you don’t have to be diplomatic!

    Like

    • UmaS says:

      Team support in IPL is very confusing – I just cant decide – Actually, I cant come to terms the fact that Dhoni, Ghambir, Saurav and of course, the God, Sachin are in different teams. 😦

      Like

  2. lostworld says:

    In the IPL-Season1 , I supported CSK b’cos Stephen Fleming was their coach (& a very big college crush of mine).. Tchah Uma.. You dont understand only!!! 😀 Hum aise hi hain.

    Like

    • UmaS says:

      Totally understand. I used to watch cricket, once upon a time, becos of Ravi Shastri. Now, I watch to hear Harsha’s hilarious commentary. Reasons are varied and wild !!! 🙂

      Like

  3. Nancy says:

    I’m hoping Mumbai Indians or Royal Challegers will win 😀

    Like

  4. Pixie says:

    ROTFL!!
    What loyalty!!! Sheeesh!! 🙄

    😆

    Like

    • UmaS says:

      Did u watch yday’s match – MI vs KKR ???? Did u see all those Sachin’s fans holding up posters with writings on it ???? All those fans put together is S – how he was glued to the screen watching Sachin hit 4s and 4s. 🙂

      Like

  5. Niveditha says:

    Hey! I’m like totally loyal to Bangalore cos I’m a true blue bangalorean! But I love KKR cos of SRK too! And I’m not even a little girl!!! 😀

    Like

    • UmaS says:

      Totally understand. But, see, the loyalty is split due to various reasons – one celeb here, one bowler there, one batman here…so funny, na ????

      Like

  6. sm says:

    i do not support anyone in IPL

    Like

  7. Solilo says:

    I don’t follow Cricket at all now but IPL is like this hit commercial movie which is discussed everywhere and as so much glamor is involved, I’m always curious to read about it.

    I support Mumbai Indians for Sachin. 🙂

    Like

  8. Butterfly says:

    What with all this Cricket around me, I don’t care. I will support the winner! Ha ha!

    Like

  9. kanagu says:

    LOL… 😆 😆

    anyway Modi’s quote has become a reality… a city based loyalty… 😀 😀

    but S’s answer is really confusing….. u know which team he supports???

    now tell us which team u support??? 😀 😀 😀

    Like

    • UmaS says:

      When we are trying our level best to unite ppl beyond the borders of city / state, look at this irony – where Indians fight with fellow ppl for city based loyalty ????

      S supports Sachin – Is it clear ???? 😆

      I am totally confused !!!! 😦

      Like

  10. Rajlakshmi says:

    Hehe seems cricket mania is in full form in ur household.
    As 4 me, no longer interested in cricket. 🙂

    Like

  11. Jai Ho Sachin….!

    Like

  12. Ashwathy says:

    I don’t mind the Sachin devotion…
    I’m no cricket fan from any angle… but still an ardent fan of Sachin… and it’s just not abt cricket.. 🙂

    Like

  13. Meira says:

    lol! Sachin has such fans in a lot of us.
    I’m confused about which team I support too. I like Sachin, Adam Gilchrist, Sehwag, Dhoni! All in different teams. And with two more teams coming up…very confusing. 😀
    Though I’d be loyal to Dilli and support DD if you ask me. Safer than being confused!

    Like

  14. Swaram says:

    LOL 🙂 I am all for RCB … my maayka team 😉

    Like

  15. masood says:

    IPL fever every where…
    I am a cricket fanatic but even my loyalties lie with individual players or bollywood actors!!!!

    Like

  16. hitchwriter says:

    I dont support any team really.. I can never pick sachin or kumble or gambhir or dhoni… together they are my favourites but I really cannot be on the side on one ! 😦 thats what I hate the most about IPL.. how can you follow sport if you arent rooting for someone ! and I aint rooting for none ! 😐

    Like

  17. Vimmuuu says:

    heyyy, whats an IPL ?? Is it a new movie ??? or some kind of reality show ??? 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Like

  18. Indy says:

    Sadly I’m a cricket anguta chaap or illiterate! SO I never can enjoy the fever pitch excitement evryone goes thru! Tch! Now I wish I took the time to understand the sport!!! Feel like I miss out on all the mazzaa!

    Like

    • UmaS says:

      I think Ignorance is Bliss, Indy. Dont you worry. Be happy that you dont know abt this IPL – life will be much smoother. 🙂

      No mazzaa – only tension on which team to support !!!

      My daughter has pinned the match schedule – noting the winners – the points scored – its all just too much for me !!!

      Like

Share what you feel about this post !

