Daag achhe hai !?!?!?

Weekends tend to be more hectic than week days. There’s more work to do, more cooking to do and the work never ends !!! Sigh !!!

Because of all the extra cooking and eating, there has been backlogs on my regular routine work. And one of those “I hate this” chore, is the folding of clothes after drying.

But one of my friend told me that it is highly therapeutic !!ย  ๐Ÿ™„ย  ย I simply don’t know what kind of therapy, will folding clothes give !!! Anyway, today I decided that I’ll make this chore, more user-friendly and greatly therapeutic in nature !!!ย ย  Dont ask me how !!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Sitting with the loads of washed laundry, with music playing in the background, I set to work !!!

I first thought of doing the easiest job in this – that is separating those clothes that need to go the person, who does the ironing. See, I don’tย have to fold them all so neatly and properly. A haphazard folding will do !!! Thats quite easy, isn’t it ??!!!

One look at that new white shirt of S, sent me 15 days back to that horrible day, when I did the biggest laundry mishap.

It was early morning and I had risen early to look at the sunrise. Having got up early on a holiday, I decided to put S’s office clothes for wash. I had cleared all the pockets (or so I thought) of S’s shirts and pants and loaded the washing machine. He needed this particular white shirt, for his meeting and it was his favourite shirt too !!!ย  By the time the washing was done, I opened the washing machine, to find the biggest disaster of all. There had been a ball-point pen in one of the pockets and My God,ย the inkย had leaked and stained every shirt and pant !!!ย  ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

First, I took out all the clothes and scrubbed the washing machine tub – even that had blue stains. Then soaked all the clothes in the best of all the detergents, which they assure will remove any stain and scrubbed the shirts and pants !!! What a holiday scrubbing !!! A day spent on washing and more washing !!!

That white shirt, still has a few stains of the blue ink, which my eyes canย make out,ย through theย glassesย !!!!ย ย  ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Then came my daughter’s favourite T-Shirt for folding. Oh-Ho !!! Look at that stain !!! The stain has become quite light, but still its visible to me – I can see those stains and all, with my new glasses, you see !!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ That stain was from the spilling of the sabzi, we had in our favourite restaurant, in Hyd. Just thinking about the stain, my mind wandered to Hyd and the restaurant and all the fun we had that day !!! Oh !! I am missing that city and its great food !!!

The handkerchiefs have paint stains !!! It refuses to go !!! My daughter has used it to wipe her hands, during her arts classes.

Those white socks tell another story of school days – I just couldn’t understand the need for removing the shoes and roaming in white socks. Its turning to brown colour, slowly !!!!ย  ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Have you seen that Surf Excel ad, in which the little boy will act like his teacher’s puppy and do all sorts of things ???ย  I used to wonder about how that boy’s mother willย clean that white shirt !!!ย  May be its a good ad to show that stains wont come in the way, to show the love for a teacherย !!! But I am alwaysย worried about the stains !!!

Every piece of laundry brought back so many memories – the saree which S got for me, the shirt which we got during our holiday to Malaysia and many more.ย  And the soft material of the pyjamas brought back the comfort, while just touching it.

Now, going back and forth to all those places, where I’ve bought stuff, made that one hour job, so very pleasant. And I felt very happy thinking about all the memories !!!!

Sometimes, I felt that these stains too had a tale to tell !!! And some of the tales, made me yearn for those trips, again !!! The conclusion, Daag achhe hai !!! ๐Ÿ™‚

So, in a sweet yet stained way, I realised that I am feeling wonderful !! Indeed folding clothes and sorting them out, is great therapy to the tired soul in me !!! ๐Ÿ™‚

26 Replies to “Daag achhe hai !?!?!?”

  1. lol… my house we have the same problem… all white clothes dont last more than a month… some way or the other my wife manages to mix her colour spewing clothes with the whites and sigh… !!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜›

    I dont think she does it purposefully. You try washing, then you’ll know.

    Daag to bilkul ache nahi hai if you ask me… !!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Yes, indeed, on clothes. But liked the story they say !!!

    Like

  2. Where did you get your glasses from? Hope they didn’t put microscopic lenses on ur glasses ๐Ÿ™„
    No, dear God !!! I am scared at what all I’ll see thru that microscopic lenses !!!

    Wah…you got all those tales from the clothes? I wonder why mine doesn’t talk to me?? I even have to iron them and do it while watching TV or listening to music and I must say I love it ๐Ÿ™‚
    Maybe, you are more tuned to the music or the TV show !!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Daag ache hai?? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ sigh!! I am very careful with my laundry and is kinda obsessed with squeaky clean clothes ๐Ÿ˜ฅ
    I do love the squeaky clean clothes, but sometimes, the stains happen.

    Like

  3. I wonder some days about why fold clothes as they seem to go back to wash again soon? More than folding, I dislike the task of putting them in place, which is what my husband also dislikes(!) I try to look at the outcome; once the clothes are back in place I feel better ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Yes, once the clothes are in place, it does look damn neat. But the journey from the clothesline to the shelves, through our hands to fold, is the difficult part.

    Like

  4. Don’t tell me about them. We’re in the middle of buying a washing machine…so the tryst with stains is just beginning . Till now we’ve been able to blame the maid for her callousness. I shudder at all the nagging I’l get once I take over the washing. Sigh!!!
    Agree, you can blame the maid anymore !!! Actually, I’ll give you a tip. The moment you stained any of TS’s shirts, start scolding yourself. The more you talk abt it, the men dont want to hear abt it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    PS: On a similar note, I used to hate folding clothes and ironing them. Now, it calms me and I feel like I’m sorting something in my life. But shhhh…DONOT tell TS. He won’t offer to help otherwise.
    WOW !! You are the only one, who has agreed that it does work like therapy for you !!! OK !! OK !!! Secret withheld !!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Does TS help ??? Cho chweet !!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Ha ha .. nice tips both of u ๐Ÿ˜‰
      But, somehw I hv never found it boring ๐Ÿ˜› Wht I hate is putting the clothes up for drying ๐Ÿ˜›

      I love the drying of clothes and after that is done, I look at my handiwork of neatness and I feel so proud !!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. Ohh! The folding clothes bit is quite irritating!
    I don’t mind the washing – as in putting clothes in the machine and switching it on!
    But, the actual folding – sigh…

    Indeed, quite an irritating job !!! But we need to divert our mind to something we like, so that this irritating job will get over fast.

    Like

  6. Thatz ws nice Ums .. the clothes telling u all the tales and helping u relive the memories ๐Ÿ˜‰ What did that sari and Malaysian shirt say ๐Ÿ˜›

    The shirt was quite sad at the faded colours !!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I love that sari which S got for me !!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. I don’t like folding, washing, putting out clothes etc..Ironing perhaps is the only thing I don’t allow anyone else to do.
    So the new glasses are getting u compliments along with serving the purpose too.WOW!;-)

    The routine boring job !!! We’ve to find ways to make these jobs creative and interesting and therapeutic !!!
    Glasses – it still hurts behind my ears !! And I feel that I am balancing some delicate object on the tip of my nose and waiting for it to fall down !!! ๐Ÿ˜†

    Like

  8. I hate folding clothes! In fact I make it a point to take them off the line & fold it there n then otherwise I have the capability of postponing teh task till eternity ๐Ÿ˜€ and I wonder how can you even think so much while folding them! I to just fold them in a hurry!!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    My SIL does folding like that – straight out of the clothesline !!! You see, I remove the clothes in a hurry, when the next set is ready to dry. So, I need to dump them somewhere urgently, to dry the clothes.

    Why don’t you bleach the white shirt? Am sure the mark will go away!
    Hey !! Thanks !! Shld do that !!!

    Vaise am an expert in coloring white clothes! Last time I had colred them all Pink ๐Ÿ˜€ but read this post of mine to know one of my escapades!!
    LOL ๐Ÿ˜†
    http://books-life-n-more.blogspot.com/2009/06/cookies-hidesign-wallet-wet-cheque-book.html

    Like

  9. LOL. Seriously. Folding laundry is a terrible chore. U were actually able to get rid of the stains?? What detergent powder was that?? Standing ovation to u on that achievement.
    I know you’ll be waiting to know abt this, with the kind of stains your little one makes in her dresses.

    If u reflected on each stain, u must have taken a long time to fold them all!!!
    Oh !!! Yeah !!! I was taking an eternity !!

    Like

  10. Goodness ur stain incident is like every woman’s nightmare ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    I’m not fond of folding clothes but since I like them neatly stacked in the cupboard I make the effort. U knw what my trick is…I fold them when I’m watching tv. That way I take the time & do it well and get to watch my show too ๐Ÿ˜€
    Yday night, I did just that. When me and S were watching news, I was multitasking by folding clothes – finished it off in a jiffy !!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  11. The most boring and unwanted task on my tasklist..i just hate to fold the clothes….somehow i always try to outsource this task but never succedded till date ๐Ÿ˜›
    Tell me, tell me – who will you outsource it to ????

    Like

  12. Either YOU stop washing clothes or stop wearing those microscopic specs !!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    Both cannot be done !!!

    You wouldve made a bad dhobi and an excellent auditor ! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    Oh !! I hate that auditing job – the one to do with finances.

    and amongst all those clothes, you still managed to keep yours safe, huh ???
    There is a trick. I wash mine separately !!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  13. Stained clothes tells the stories :-D:-D quite cool… But the stain in white shirt is an irritating thing but one cant do much about it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ i am really glad that my white shirt wearing days were ended with my 10th standard ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
    Yes, white shirts need to be crisp clean and really white. I dont like it even when it changes to a dull colour. Dont u use white shirts for office ???

    Like

  14. ANDDDDD the award for the scrubbing-stains-away-freak goes to Uma…. it has been snatched away from Smithus!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ rofl !!
    OH !! Was there an award for that ??? Thanks Ash !! But dont snatch it from Smithu !!! We’ll share the award !!

    Like

  15. I am with you in disliking folding and ironing the loads of laundry ๐Ÿ™‚
    I try to do it all while watching something interesting on TV.
    Thats a better idea, is what I’ve understood.

    I can imagine the hard-work that must have gone into re-washing all those clothes to get rid of the ink stains.
    It was very tough, indeed !!! I was scared that the shirt will tear due to my hard scrubbing !!!

    I have had occasions when I actually washed currency notes and once even my mobile ๐Ÿ˜ฆ (here’s the link to my mobile disaster –>http://dialoguewithyou.blogspot.com/2009/08/ultimate-shower.html )
    Will read it.

    Loved the sweet way you related to stains and the sweet memories they hold ๐Ÿ™‚
    hehehehe Thanks.

    Like

  16. Your posts always reflect something of my own life always!!!!
    We have a lot of similarities. We need to meet !!!!
    hehe….invisible ball point pen in shirt or pant pocket…oh yes, have a memory of me doing the same thing !!! lol! Anyway, you do look rather intelligent in ur new glasses! nice!!!
    Thanks Indy !!! Have u blogged abt that washing disaster ???

    Like

  17. Well written post ๐Ÿ™‚ Really enjoyed reading it… and I guess the moral of the story is – if you take each chore positively… any chore can become enjoyable ๐Ÿ™‚
    Only you have come up with the correct moral of this post. I am deeply touched. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you.

    Like

  18. hahahahaha ๐Ÿ˜›

    always good to spot the silver lining in every situation ๐Ÿ˜›
    Try to spot it, to make the chore easy and likeable.

    so you fold the clothes after drying?????
    ?? ๐Ÿ™„ ??

    All I do is roll them into a ball and throw them into one corner of the room ๐Ÿ˜› and I iron only what is needed for the day ๐Ÿ˜›

    simple logic ๐Ÿ˜›
    Simple Bachelor logic. Doesnt work in homes.

    Like

  19. LOL! That is some therapy! I need some of that ๐Ÿ™‚ Or rather my clothes need me to need it as I have a pile to iron and put away ๐Ÿ™‚
    Talk to them and you would’ve finished the job in a jiffy !!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Let me try it out and see if it works for me ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love the way you make ordinary everyday things so cute and funny ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks Smitha !!

    Like

Share what you feel about this post !

