Teachers, aap ko salaam !!!!

I’ve heard some people tell that the best jobs for women are Bank jobs and as Teachers.  Their reasons – the timings are just perfect – its only from morning till afternoon, sometimes late evening and the next best reason is that the holidays you get.   Their vote was always in favour of being a teacher, where you get Dussherra break, Christmas break and a full month of summer break.

Actually, I’ve wished to become a teacher, when I was young, because, I loved wearing the saree and writing on the black board.   😆

When I shifted to Chennai recently, I took up a flat in an apartment, which is just next door to my girls’ school.  It was very advantageous for me, as I don’t need to rush in the morning hours and the girls can take their time to get ready and in just 2 minutes walk, they reach the school.

Last month, the school had invited the parents for some interactive session and I had been to that.  During the session, the School Principal’s speech really impressed me – While technology is growing so fast, the students being young and energetic just absorb all the technology like a sponge. And they are updated in all the fields, through internet.  So, why should the teachers be left behind ???? Don’t the teachers need to match the children in the technological advancement ???? So, the School has invested in huge numbers of latest computers and a few of those computers have been installed especially for the teachers to upgrade their technological skills.  They have also allotted 2 to 3 hours of computer time per week for every teacher, to surf and surf the internet and be more aware of their subjects.  They are asked to go into various other School sites to get more updates.

I just loved the way the Principal approached the subject and made sure the teachers are more informed to clear the students’ doubts.

Now, looking through my balcony, I see all the teachers come in before 8.30am in the morning, before the Assembly starts.  But, they have something to do till 5pm in the evening, while all the children are out by 4pm.  These teachers are constantly upgrading and what with the new grading system by CBSE, its more and more work for the teachers.

Sometimes, the school arranges for workshops, where teachers from all over the City or Country, participate and create a common board for discussion.

I am surprised that when the school is given a holiday for heavy rains, the teachers have to work, whether its rain or shine.  Sometimes, these workshops are scheduled during the weekends, so that there is more participation, without the classes being disturbed.  So, its work time during weekends, too.

On the whole, there is no way, that the teachers enjoy comfortable timings and that the job is easy.  Actually, I feel they are the hard-working lot with so many things to do – to teach the subject, to discipline the kids and be kind and affectionate at the same time, they cant lose their cool, prepare for next day’s class, prepare the question paper and correct the answer sheets, fill in the report card with all the necessary details and I think that there are more to the list.  And its not just one student to manage, but a class of 30 or 40 young  / adolescent children to manage is a difficult task on its own.

The only happy thing is that, this job gives such heartfelt satisfaction, which can be seen immediately in the performance of the students.

And when an old student visits the teacher and credits his growth to the teacher, that’s probably the best moment in the life of a teacher.

My salute to you all, THE TEACHERS, who create a better tomorrow through the students you educate.

13 Replies to “Teachers, aap ko salaam !!!!”

  1. I am totally impressed by your principal. We had a speaker come to our university who addressed the same topic at a conference here. He talked about how bored children are in traditional class setup, now that they have iphone and facebook and twitter to engage them. The talk really opened up on the need to modify our educational setup with new technologies. It is great to hear about school principals in India adopting these ideas and training teachers appropriately.
    Me : Changes and upgrades are required everywhere, mainly in technology.
    Great topic Uma 🙂
    Me : Thanks Lakshmi. I too was very impressed. Hv been seeing them for the 2 months from my balcony and its high time, I write abt them.

    Like

  2. I am impressed.
    Not many feel the need to upgrade themselves and usually crib about the low salaries!!
    Me : I was quite happy to know abt the upgrade to a better comp and a faster internet connection for the teachers !!!

    Great post!
    Me : 🙂
    Yes, it’s the teachers who help in creating better tomorrows… and with teachers like your daughters’ school principal, students needn’t worry at all!
    Me : Thanx, Pix. I too feel gud abt this thot.

    Like

  3. Continued professional development is a must for every profession.
    Real good points were stressed upon by the school’s principal.
    Me : She’s a very gud administrator.

    Wonderful post with an apt title 😀
    Me : Hv u learnt Hindi ????? I am impressed.

    Teachers play a very important role in molding young minds and young futures.

    Keep up the wonderful work Uma 🙂
    Me : Tanx for all the support, CB !!!!

    Cheers!!

    Like

  4. That is really nice! Sounds like a very progressive school and your girls must be very happy there, I’m sure! 🙂
    Me : Absolutely !!!!

    hey and it’s wonderful that u live so nearby it…I did too when young! It is espy easier to get to school without delay! 🙂
    Me : For the first time, my girls r walking to school. They thoroughly enjoy it.

    Like

  5. Wow! Am impressed by that school too 🙂
    What u said is rt Ums, it is such a noble profession and they hv a lot of work to do too … even though the world thinks they hv a very safe, comfy job!
    Me : They are literally slogging out like other working ppl !!!! Teaching is quite difficult and more responsible – the teacher makes or breaks a student !!!

    Like

  6. Lovely Post!!!
    Me : 🙂

    Teaching was my first dream job sadly I was a kid then and every year my dream job kept changing 😀
    Me : My younger one is like that, now !!!! 🙂

    You know teaching or banking jobs used to be the safe nd steady ones but now thats not the case. You yourself have put it so well about teachers & as far as banking is concerned in today’s cut throat enviornment that also is no more a comfy job!!!
    Me : True.
    But you know what? I feel teaching is one of the most thankless job!!!
    Me : Yes, its just that one kind word from that rare student, once in a blue moon, which makes them going on and on.

    Like

  7. I still sometime feel if i can be teacher of preschool or playschool…its wonderful when so many kids around…but the responsibility it carries is too much…teachers are responsible for shaping kids future..
    Me : Hey !!! You shld take up, if u like it. Once Angel is big enuf to go to school, u too can join in some play school !!! There are lots of courses to update yourself.
    Gr8 to know teachers efforts in updating themself with new technology…

    Like

  8. Me impressed too! Not bad at all. I generally have a very poor impression of teachers because of my experience with them. But your post made me feel hopeful.
    Me : Yes, the Principal’s talk lifted my hopes !!!
    Which school is this, btw?
    Me : DAV !!!!

    Like

  9. I love being a teacher. The idea of connecting with younger generation, moulding their curiosity to knowledge, seeing those innocence etc…
    Me : I desperately wanted to become one…but don’t how it all got changed.

    Yup I also loved wearing sarre and write on blackboard and wanted to be a teacher. In fact I use to conduct classes with all my toys, giving them attractive notebook covers, names etc…me n my fren ekta bauri use to play teacher teacher!
    Me : Hey !!! That sounds a lot like me…. 🙂

    wow you ve made me revisit those nostalgic moment once again 🙂
    Me : Welcome here, Ekta !!! And may those nostalgic visits continue….

    Like

  10. Are you sure they arent going in to use the PCs for some other use??? 😀 😀 😀
    You know like blogging, or farmville, or something similar 😀 😀 😀
    Me : Not everybody will waste precious time, like You !!!

    Actually, Im impressed ! good teachers create good students, no doubt !
    Me : 🙂

    Like

  11. Principal’s speech is really good and teachers are really important in the growth of children…
    Me : Yes, I agree !!!!

    and what he/she has mentioned really true… teachers needs to be updated else with the questions the current generation kids asking they will give expressions like 🙄 😯 :devil: 😥 with kids having this expression 👿 8)

    and you have got wonderful resaons to become a teacher 😛 😛
    Me : It was gud enuf for me !!!! But I didn’t become one !!!!

    Like

Share what you feel about this post !

